Ohio County Biographies
I found these biographies online and was able to download them. These were found in a five-volume set, of which the first two volumes are general history and the last three volumes are biographies. These biographies were new to me and I hope they will be helpful to someone.
History of Kentucky, Vol. 3
By: William Elsey Connelley and E. M. Coulter
Published 1922 by The American Historical Society
ERNEST BENTLEY ANDERSON for more than a quarter of a century has been an active member of the Owensboro bar, with practice and other associations that make his name widely known over this section of Kentucky. He is a son of the veteran Owensboro merchant, Samuel Walter Anderson, whose interesting career has been reviewed on other pages. Ernest B. Anderson was born at the home of his parents at Ceralvo, Ohio County, Kentucky, September 16, 1868. When he was about ten years of age his parents located at Hartford, where he continued attending public schools. In 1885, after a competitive examination, he was appointed a cadet at the United States Naval Academy at Annapolis, and received the thorough training accorded the naval cadets in that famous institution. He graduated in 1889, and for one year was in active service in the navy as a midshipman. He then resigned to begin the study of law in the University of Virginia, where he graduated in 1893, and in the same year was admitted to the bar at Owensboro, where he has earned many gratifying successes in his profession. He has always devoted his time to his profession, with no political side issues, though he is classified as a democrat. In July, 1889, he married Edith May Smith, of Ludlow, Massachusetts. They have two children, John Bentley and Mary Dimmick Anderson. Mr. and Mrs. Anderson are members of the First Baptist Church of Owensboro.
SAMUEL ARETUS ANDERSON is a product of western Kentucky. He had the experience of a farmer boy, became a printer and newspaper publisher, achieved success in politics as a republican in a democratic stronghold, studied law and since 1910 has been one of the valued and successful members of the Louisville bar. Mr. Anderson was born at Whitesville, Daviess County, Kentucky, January 29, 1872. In that community on April 12, 1848, there was born to the Anderson family a son, R. A. Anderson, and to the Hayes family a daughter, Sophronia C, and nearly twenty years later these two linked their lives in marriage on February 27, 1868. R. A. Anderson acquired a public school education in his native county, and in 1862, when only fourteen years of age, enlisted in the Third Kentucky Cavalry and played a gallant part as a boy soldier of the Union. He was wounded while in the army and was honorably discharged at the close of the war at Louisville. The remainder of his life was spent in the industrious and honorable pursuit of farming. He did general farming, but was a great lover of fine saddle horses. R. A. Anderson, who died in August, 1919, was for a number of years commander of the G. A. R. Post at Hartford, Kentucky, and was a member of the Christian Church. In politics he was aligned with the democrats until 1899, and after that with the republican party. His wife died February 16, 1914, and of their nine children eight are still living, Samuel Aretus being the third in age. S. A. Anderson was born on his father's farm near Whites-ville in Daviess County, but after 1879 lived with his parents on their farm in Ohio County. He attended public schools, and at the age of sixteen began to work for the Hartford Republican as a printer. He was a printer in the offices of the Hartford Republican and Hartford Herald for five years, and at the age of twenty-one came to the responsibilities and dignity of the ownership of the Hartford Republican, of which he was publisher and editor for a number of years. In the midst of his journalistic career came his first notable triumph in politics. In 1897 he was nominated by the republicans of Ohio County as candidate for clerk of the Circuit Court. His election was in the nature of a personal triumph, since he was the first republican circuit clerk ever elected in Ohio County. He filled the office one term, and while in office he passed the bar examination, and on leaving the courthouse began practice at Hartford. Mr. Anderson was engaged in practice there until December, 1910, when he removed to Louisville, and for the past ten years has maintained his offices in the Marion E. Taylor Building. Along with a busy professional clientage he has always maintained a great interest in politics. He was republican nominee for judge of the Jefferson Circuit Court, Criminal Division, in 1915, but was defeated with other republican aspirants of that year. During 1918-19 he served as a member of the Louisville City Council. Mr. Anderson is a member of the Methodist Church, and fraternally is affiliated with the Elks, Knights of Pythias and Maccabees. On September 19, 1894, he married Miss Elva M. Morton, oldest daughter of the late Judge John P. Morton, who for a number of years filled the post of county judge of Ohio County. The three children of Mr. and Mrs. Anderson are Mary Louise, wife of Gilbert Watkins; Capt. Samuel A. Anderson, Jr., who gained his title in the football world; and Helen Morton Anderson, attending the Girls' High School at Louisville.
CHARLES HENRY ELLIS. It is perfectly safe to make the statement that no man can become a leading factor in any line and win such appreciation from his fellow citizens as to be rewarded with high local office unless he has deserved such preferment. Occasion-ally men do have honors conferred upon them to which they are not entitled, but it is not long before they are found out and they fall back to their real position among their associates. Were there no material rewards attending upon the proper performance of duty and an uprightness of living, the self respect a man earns by such a course is sufficient to raise him above the level of a time-serving servant, and mark him for what he is. Charles Henry Ellis, president of the Bank of Sturgis, president of the Kentucky Bankers Association, and for four years mayor of Sturgis, is easily one of the most deserving and successful of the citizens of Union County, and one to whom all the above praise should be applied. Charles Henry Ellis was born in Ohio County, Kentucky, near Hartford, July 27, 18 73, a son of Alexander C. and Mary (Stevens) Ellis, both of whom were born in Kentucky. The Ellis family is of Virginia stock, but Joel Ellis, the grandfather, was born in Kentucky, and this state also gave birth to the grandfather Stevens, although his ancestors came from Maryland. Alexander C. Ellis was a farmer and tobacconist of Ohio County, and Charles H. Ellis was reared on the homestead and was early taught to make himself useful to his parents. After attending the rural schools he became a student of Centre College, from which he was graduated, and then for nine years was occupied with teaching school. Entering the banking business he was cashier of the Citizens Bank at Calhoun, Kentucky, for one year, and then occupied a similar position for three years with the Morganfield National Bank of Morganfield, both of which he assisted in organizing. In 1908 he came to Sturgis as cashier of the Bank of Sturgis, and continued in that office until 1920, when he was elected its president. In September, 1920, he was further honored by his fellow bankers of the state, who made him the chief executive of their organization. In politics a democrat, he has always been active in his party and popular with the masses, and was once elected mayor of Sturgis. He is a Master Mason, and belongs to the Christian Church. In 1902 Mr. Ellis was united in marriage with Miss Corinne Landrum, and they have three daughters. Having had such a long experience as a banker, Mr. Ellis is well qualified to judge wisely with reference to men and their motives, and many times renders very valuable services in advising with reference to prospective investments and expansion of existing business concerns. His interest in his home community is unquestioned, and he is one of the leaders in all wholesome movements designed to improve existing conditions and raise the general standards of the people.
ROBERT LEE FORD, M. D. The community of Livermore in McLean County has been fortunate in having available the services of such a progressive physician and surgeon as Doctor Ford. He is a man of real attainment in his profession, has fortified his individual experience by keeping in touch with the great progress made in the medical and surgical world, and his standing among local physicians is indicated by the fact that he is president of the McLean County Medical Society. Doctor Ford was born in South Carrollton, Muhlenberg County, Kentucky, June 6, 1863, son of Manalcus C. and Maria (Sawyer) Ford. His mother, who is still living, in her ninetieth year, was born in Tennessee and reared in Illinois. Manalcus Ford was born and reared in Kentucky, a son of William Ford, who represented an old Maryland family. Doctor Ford's parents were married in Kentucky and eventually settled in Ohio County, this state, where Doctor Ford was reared at Centertown. He attained his early education in the schools of that village, but went to St. Louis to acquire his medical education. He graduated in 1899 from the Barnes Medical College of that city, but previously, in 1888, had received a certificate from the state board and practiced as an undergraduate at Centertown. For ten years his home was on a farm near Hartford, and he combined farming with looking after a country practice. Since 1901 he has been at Livermore engaged in a general practice, recognized for his special abilities in surgery. He took two post-graduate courses in the Chicago Polyclinic and also two courses in the Mayo Brothers Institute at Rochester, Minnesota. Doctor Ford is a member of the State and American associations, is a democrat and a Master Mason. In 1890 he married Miss Nora Bennett.
WILLIAM L. GRADDY, whose acuteness, foresight, tact and tenacity of purpose have made him one of the most successful business men of Utica, belongs to the class of men who have had to work their own way to prosperity and position. His present general mercantile business represents the result of years of honorable and painstaking endeavor, and his status as a leading citizen has been gained through his constructive and public-spirited support of movements which his intuition has told him would be beneficial to his community. Mr. Graddy was born in Ohio County, Kentucky, December 30, 1867, a son of Whitfield and Catherine (Brown) Graddy. His parents were also natives of Ohio County, where the father followed the vocation of agriculture, and both were highly esteemed in their locality. The boyhood of William L. Graddy was passed on the home place, and he remained under the parental roof until he was twenty-one years of age, aiding his father in the various duties pertaining to the operation of the paternal acres. In the meantime he acquired an ordinary education in the district school in the neighborhood of the place of his birth, and when he had reached his majority broke home ties and started out in earnest to pursue a career of his own. He at that time had no resources of a financial nature, and was forced naturally to accept such honorable employment as came his way. As a result, for several years he was variously employed, on farms and otherwise, and his first mercantile experience was gained as a clerk in a general store at Livia, Kentucky. Here he remained three years, during which time he practiced the most rigid economy, and then, having saved a few hundred dollars and gained a fairly good idea of mercantile conditions, determined to embark in business on his own account. He accordingly bought a small stock of goods and a store at Nuckols, McLean County, and during a period of thirteen years successfully conducted a general store there. Not alone was he prosperous in his business endeavors, but largely through his initiative and example the town of Nuckols grew and developed immeasurably. In 1907 Mr. Graddy sought a wider field for his operations and accordingly disposed of his interests at Nuckols and came to Utica, where he purchased the general store of the Utica Mercantile Company. He has since merchandised with constantly increased success at Utica, where he has made his home and where he is highly esteemed both as a business man and a citizen. He has forged his own way to success in the business world, and his rules of life have included diligence, industry and fair dealing. He has never aspired to political honors, preferring to devote his time entirely to his business affairs, yet he has taken a live interest in politics as a democrat and has manifested a commendable public-spiritedness as a citizen. In church faith he is a Baptist, and fraternally he is affiliated with the Masons. In 1890 Mr. Graddy was united in marriage with Miss Priscilla Tucker, of McLean County, and to this union there have been born six children, namely; Iran Clay, Lottie B., Elsa Lee, Catharine, Elizabeth and William L.
JOE HAYNES MILLER. During the past three decades perhaps no citizen of McLean County has found his time and abilities harnessed to more responsibilities of public and professional affairs than Joe Haynes Miller, who has successively been a teacher, school superintendent, lawyer, public official and banker. Mr. Miller was born in Ohio County, Kentucky, April 12, 1860, son of James C. and Frances Y. (Haynes) Miller, the former a native of Daviess County and the latter of Ohio County. James C. Miller spent his active life on a farm in Daviess County, and was the father of five children. Joe Haynes Miller grew up in a rural district, and had the duties of a farm household as a familiar part of his early environment and training. He attended common schools, the West Kentucky College at South Carrollton, and was in the schoolroom as a teacher for five years. He studied law under Judge William B. Noe at Calhoun, and was admitted to the bar in January, 1887. In the previous year he had been elected county superintendent of schools, and gave his time to that office for four years, but in the meantime had handled his first cases of private practice and in 1890 was elected county attorney, filling that post four years. Since then he has been engaged in an extensive general practice. In 1903 he organized the Citizens Deposit Bank of Calhoun, and as president has guided that institution through a period of seventeen successful years. Mr. Miller is a democrat, a Master Mason, and a member of the Baptist Church. In 1888 he married at Calhoun Miss Lizzie Shutt. Their only daughter, Leura H., is now Mrs. W. H. Waller, of Hopkinsville, Kentucky.
WILLIAM EDMUND RENDER. Livermore, though one of the smaller towns of Western Kentucky, is a center of considerable importance industrially as well as agriculturally, and no one institution has done more to add to this phase of the community's prosperity than the Livermore Chair Company. This company was incorporated in 1911, and the following year its factory began operations. It has been a steadily sustained industry, manufacturing large quantities of chairs distributed and sold throughout the Middle West. The president of the company is K. J. Meyer, while the general manager of the factory and business from the beginning has been W. E. Render. Mr. Render, a live and energetic business man, was born in Ohio County, Kentucky, July 24, 1880. His parents, William P. and Mary (Tichenor) Render, were also born in Ohio County, where his father for many years has been substantially identified with farming. W. E. Render grew up on a farm, had a common school education, and for several years busied himself with helping raise crops. Leaving home at the age of twenty-three he came to Livermore and for nine years was cashier of the Bank of Livermore. While with that institution he took an active part in the organization of the Livermore Chair Company, and at once assumed the supervision of its factory. Mr. Render is a republican in politics, a Knight Templar Mason and a member of the Missionary Baptist Church. In 1913 he married Miss Myrtle Johnson, daughter of W. A. Johnson, of Livermore. They have one son, Gerald.
JACOB EDWIN ROWE. No member of the Kentucky bar is generally acknowledged to have a more ready and sound judgment in broad and intricate matters of civil and criminal jurisprudence than Jacob Edwin Rowe, of Hawesville. His knowledge of the law is remarkable, both for its comprehensiveness and accuracy, and in its application he is earnest, concise, logical and forceful, which accounts in large measure for the high and substantial nature of his professional standing, and has led his fellow citizens to elect him to offices of importance. Jacob Edwin Rowe was born on a farm in Ohio County, Kentucky, August 19, 1857, a son of John P. and Ursula Rebecca (Ingleheart) Rowe and of patriotic Revolutionary stock. He is a grandson of Robert and Nancy (Ross) Rowe, natives of Kentucky, and Jacob Ingleheart. The last named was a Baptist minister, ex-tensive farmer and miller, who was also a native of Ohio County, Kentucky, whose forefathers came from Maryland, having immigrated there from Holland and France as Huguenots. The mother, through her maternal ancestors, traces her lineage back to the famous families of Humphreys and Marshals. John P. and Ursula Rebecca Rowe had four children, as follows: Richard Perry, who was the eldest; James Albert, who died in 1892, aged thirty-six years; and Jacob Edwin and his twin brother, Robert Lewis, who died in infancy. The father was a farmer, merchant and tobacconist, and lived to be eighty-seven years old. Growing up in Ohio and McLean counties, Jacob Edwin Rowe attended the common schools and Bethel College, from which he was graduated in 1877 with the degree of Bachelor of Science. For the subsequent two years he was engaged in teaching school, and then began the study of law at Hartford, Kentucky, under Judge E. Dudley Walker, and was admitted to the bar in McLean County in 1878. He began the practice of his profession at Hartford, from whence he moved to Owensboro, having been elected in the fall of 1892 commonwealth attorney for the Sixth Judicial District, composed of Daviess, Ohio, Hancock and McLean counties. Prior to that date he had acquired experience in public life as school commissioner of Ohio Comity, which office he held from 1884 to 1886. After serving for one term of five years as commonwealth attorney, being the first of the district under the present constitution, in 1897 he was reelected to the same office and served another term of six years. At the expiration of that period he resumed his private practice, continuing at Owensboro until 1917, when he came to Hawesville, where he has since remained, and he is now enjoying a large and valuable connection and is regarded as one of the ablest attorneys of this part of the state. He has always been a democrat. In 1879 Mr. Rowe was united in marriage with Miss Logan M. Walker, eldest child of Judge E. Dudley Walker, of Hartford, Ohio County, Kentucky, a lawyer of marked ability and eminent success, under whom Mr. Rowe read law and with whom he was associated for many years in the practice. Mr. and Mrs. Rowe have three children, namely: Ella Walker Rowe, who is the wife of Newton H. Field, of Hawesville; Bessie Ree, who is the wife of William Dix Morton, of Nortonville, Kentucky; and Edwina, who is the wife of Frederick William Botts, an attorney of Miami, Florida. In all of the relations of life Mr. Rowe has been the exemplar of the high principles he has always held, and he sets an example to his associates in honorable practice and unfailing resourcefulness.
RICHARD PERRY ROWE. Life presented a busy and strenuous program to Richard Perry Rowe, and he has accepted the opportunities and adventures therein with commendable good spirit, has carried on a good fight against heavy odds at times, and has made a name for himself as a successful lawyer, farmer and business man. Mr. Rowe, whose home is in Daviess County, was born in Ohio County, Kentucky, March 16, 1854, and represents an old Kentucky and Virginia family. His earliest ancestor of whom there is accurate record was George Rowe, a native of Virginia and of Irish lineage. The next, also named George Rowe, was born in Culpeper County, Virginia, and came to Kentucky more than a century ago, settling in Ohio County in 1806. He married Mary Brown. Their son, Robert Rowe, married Nancy Ross, who were the parents of John Plain Rowe, and grandfather of Richard Perry Rowe. John Plain Rowe was born in Ohio County in 1830 and died in Daviess County in 1917, at the advanced age of eighty-seven. He spent his active years as a farmer, and during the period of the Civil war was a Union soldier. John Plain Rowe married Rebecca Ursula Igleheart, a native of Ohio County and daughter of Jacob Henderson Iglehart, who was of Holland Dutch ancestry. The children born to their marriage were Richard Perry, James Albert, Jacob, Edwin and Robert, twins, the last dying in infancy. Richard Perry Rowe grew up on his father's farm in Ohio County, attended country schools, and for one year was a student in Bethel College at Russell-ville. He also taught school and later gave his very constructive influence to local educational affairs in the office of school commissioner or superintendent of Ohio County schools. Besides the value of his record in office he earned the distinction of being the first republican to hold a county office in that county. He also served seven years as postmaster of Hartford, following which he was a merchant at Hartford, this portion of his business career being attended with indifferent success. Following that he entered the timber business, acting as a broker and buying and selling timber in the valleys of the Cumberland and Tennessee rivers. Part of the time he lived at Paducah. He then located on a farm at Island in McLean County, moved to Owensboro in 1915, and in 1916 came to his present country home south of Owensboro. During his early years Mr. Rowe gave serious attention to the study of law. Later on, when business reverses occurred, he was prompted to take up the law as a profession and in 1889 was admitted to the bar at Paris, Tennessee, and still later was licensed to practice in the courts of Kentucky. It was a profession in which his knowledge and broad experience gave him a place of special advantage, and he retired from practice only as a result of paralysis of the muscles of the throat, followed by impairment of speech. Mr. Rowe has always been a stanch republican and while in Ohio County was active in his party, serving as chairman of the County Central Committee six years. Under his leadership Ohio County for the first time after the Civil war gave a republican majority. He is a Baptist, and has always strongly allied himself with the best interests of the community in which he has lived. The deepest sorrow of his life assailed him at his country home south of Owensboro on August 29, 1919, when his wife and the companion of his youth and mature years passed away. October 11, 1876, forty-three years before her death, he married Miss Lillian May Karnes. She was born and reared near Island in McLean County. Mr. and Mrs. Rowe had three children, Ernest Perry, Eric Judson, and one son, John Mason Rowe, who died at the age of twelve years. Ernest P. Rowe is now a prominent young attorney at the Owensboro bar. The younger son is actively associated with his father on the farm, and also earned a patriotic record in the United States Navy from December, 1917, until October, 1919.
PIGMAN TAYLOR, M. D., AND J. H. TAYLOR, M. D. Some of the most repre-sentative men and finest characters in this country have found congenial employment for their talents and a wide field of usefulness in the practice of medicine. For many years the name of Taylor has been connected with this learned and self sacrificing profession in Providence and Webster County, it having been borne by the late Dr. Pigman Taylor and his son, Dr. J. H. Taylor, who is still engaged in an active practice at Providence. Dr. Pigman Taylor was born in Ohio County, Kentucky, February 28, 1825, and died at Providence, Kentucky, August 22, 1899. He was a son of Harrison and Philenia (Pigman) Taylor, the former a native of Virginia and the latter a native of Maryland, and of Irish and English descent, respectively. When he was eleven years of age Harrison Taylor was brought by his parents to what is now Ohio County, Kentucky, where his father, Richard Taylor, settled on military land and developed a farm, and later became the first merchant of Hartford. Still later he engaged in a distilling business. He served for three terms in the Lower House of the Kentucky State Assembly, and was a prominent man and a second cousin of General Zachary Taylor. His son, Harrison Taylor, was reared on the home-stead, and after reaching' manhood's estate bought a farm in the then wilds of Ohio County and developed it, residing on it until 1870, when he sold his property and went to live with his daughter, Mrs. Sarah A. Austin, remaining with her until his death in December, 1878. He was a veteran of the War of 1812, and served as sheriff of Ohio County for one term. When he was nineteen years old Dr. Pigman Taylor began the study of medicine under Doctors Moore and Hart of Hartford, Kentucky, and during 1846 and 1847 attended the medical department of the Louisville University, and in the spring of 1848 began the practice of his profession at Fordsville, Ohio County, Kentucky. In January, 1849, he moved to the western part of Hopkins County, where he was engaged in practice for ten years, and in March, 1859, located permanently at Providence, and continued to practice until his death. In 1851 Doctor Taylor was united in marriage with Miss Almedia S. Anderson, a native of Christian County, Kentucky, who died in March, 1906, aged seventy-seven years. They were blessed with eight children, four of whom grew to maturity: Lelia, who married William Johnson and died in 1906, leaving one son, Taylor Johnson; Ida, who married Sidney Morrow, and died in 1889; John Harrison, whose name heads this review; and Thomas Lee, who is residing at San Antonio, Texas. Both Doctor Taylor and his wife were consistent members of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. In politics he was a democrat. Fraternally he was a Royal Arch Mason. A gentleman of the old school, he was noted for his charming personality and exquisite courtesy, as well as for his profound learning and professional skill. Boundlessly generous, he lived up to the most exalted conceptions of his calling and displayed in every relation of life a sweet-tempered spirit and was beloved by all who knew him.
Dr. John Harrison Taylor, son of Dr. Pigman Taylor, was born at Providence, March 20, 1864, and secured his preliminary educational training in the city of his nativity and his medical instruction in the medical department of Vanderbilt University, from which he was graduated February 26, 1884, when not quite twenty years of age. He began to practice medicine with his father, and this association continued till the death of the elder man. In 1889 Dr. J. H. Taylor took a postgraduate course of three months at the New York Polyclinic; in 1907 he took another post-graduate course at Johns Hopkins University at Baltimore, Maryland, and was appointed resident physician at Saint Agnes Hospital at Baltimore in May, 1908, which position he held for a year, and then returned to Providence. He is a member of the State and National Medical Associations, and for several years was president of the county Board of Health. On February 17, 1892, Doctor Taylor was married to Miss Nannie Lee Humphrey, and they had two daughters, Juanita and Almeda. Mrs. Taylor died November 14, 1920. Fraternally Doctor Taylor belongs to the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. In his politics he is a democrat. For many years the Cumberland Presbyterian Church has held his membership. Like his father, he is held in the highest esteem in Webster County, and is a physician and surgeon of unquestioned skill and scholarly attainments.
JOHN M. TICHENOR. Marshall County men have always been restless to reach still higher success, whether in business or political or professional life, and one of them who has contented himself only with bringing into a perfect system the duties devolving upon him, so that he is now satisfied with the rewards which his years of usefulness have brought him in the confidence of the people and the respect of his associates, is John M. Ticbenor, merchant and extensive farmer of Calvert City. Whatever work he has undertaken he has done well; every duty cast upon him has been efficiently discharged; no one who has reposed confidence in him has been disappointed, and his accomplishments present an example worthy of imitation by all who are destined to follow in his footsteps. John M. Tichenor was born in Ohio County, Kentucky, December 24, 1861, a son of W. C. Tichenor, who came into the world in the same county as his son, the date of his birth being in 1812. His death occurred in the same county in 1894. His entire life was spent within the confines of Ohio County, and there he became one of the prosperous and wealthy farmers. From the time he cast his first vote he was a firm supporter of the democratic party. Being converted at an early age, he joined the Baptist Church, and the local congregation never had a more earnest and generous member. By his first marriage he had five children. Eliza married Buck Sawyer and died in Mississippi, and four others died before they reached maturity. The second wife of W. G Tichenor was Martha Miller, who was born in Maryland in 1824, and died in Ohio County, Kentucky, in 1902. Their children were: David P., who is a farmer of Beaverdam, Kentucky; John M., who was second in order of birth; William J., who was station agent for two railroads at Collins, Louisiana, died there when he was forty years of age; and J. McHenry, who is a farmer of the Hopkinsville, Christian County, neighborhood. John M. Tichenor attended the rural schools of Ohio County and the South Carrollton High School for two terms, and left school when he was twenty-two years old. For the subsequent four years he was telegraph operator for the Nashville, Chattanooga & Saint Louis Railroad at Calvert City, coming here in 1884. While holding this position, in 1886 he established his present general mercantile business, starting it with a very small capital, his total assets being less than $100. However, as he is a born merchant, from the start the venture proved to be a paying one, and under his capable management the business has been expanded until it is the leading one of its kind in Marshall County outside of the county seat. The store is located at the corner of McLeod and Railroad streets, and Mr. Tichenor owns the building it occupies and a large warehouse on the Illinois Central tracks. The store building is of solid concrete and modern in every particular. Mr. Tichenor also owns a modern residence on McLeod Street, which is one of the finest in the city, and several other dwellings here, as well as a farm of eighty acres two miles south of Calvert City and one of sixty acres which adjoins his residence and is within the corporate limits of the city, both properties being very valuable land. Prominent as a democrat, Mr. Tichenor has received such rewards as his service to his party entitle him, and was postmaster of Calvert City from 1885 for eight years. In 1912 his son, Paul W. Tichenor, who is his assistant in the mercantile business, was appointed postmaster by the Wilson administration and re-appointed in 1916, being still the incumbent of the office and a very satisfactory and dependable official. Mr. Tichenor is a member of the Missionary Baptist Church, and has served it as clerk for the past twenty, years, is Sunday School superintendent, and was instrumental in securing the establishment of the Calvert City Congregation and the erection of the present church edifice. In every way he is one of the leading members and feels that no demands made in behalf of the church are excessive. He is a stockholder and director of the Calvert Bank, which he assisted in organizing in 1907. During the period that this country was at war Mr. Tichenor was one of the active workers, and took a keen interest in all of the local movements in behalf of the cause. He subscribed very generously to all of the Liberty Loan and other drives, and took the limit of the stamps. In addition to his other interests he owns a modern garage and has a half interest in the firm conducting it, composed of Dr. W. T. Little, R. L. Holland and himself. The garage building is a new and modern one on McLeod Street. He also has a fourth interest in the new electric plant of Calvert City. A man of broad vision, Mr. Tichenor has been able to look ahead and see the future of these different enterprises, and therefore was willing to invest his money in them. He was married in 1890, at Calvert City, to Miss Williford Calvert, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. P. W. Calvert, both of whom are deceased. Mr. Calvert was the pioneer farmer and hotel proprietor for whom Calvert City was named. Mr. and Mrs. Tichenor became the parents of children as follows: Jessie, who was graduated in music, is a skilled performer in both vocal and instrumental music, and is living at home; Paul W., who is postmaster; Milton, who died at the age of five years; and Calvert, who is attending the Paducah High School.
ARETUS ALLEN WESTERFIELD, M. D. The most enlightened tenets of medical and surgical science find expression in the career of Dr. Aretus Allen Westerfield, a general practitioner of Utica since 1896, a prominent and progressive factor in several leading medical associations and a potent influence in the promotion of civic measures making for progress and advancement. Doctor Westerfield's professional ambitions unfolded on the farm in Ohio County, Kentucky, where he was born February 15, 1871, a son of John C. and Martha (McGan) Westerfield, the former also a native of Ohio County and the latter of the State of Virginia. His paternal grandfather, William Westerfield, was a Kentuckian by birth and a farmer by occupation, and this vocation was likewise followed by John C. Westerfield. The members of this family have always been highly respected in the various communities in which they have resided, and have for the most part been agriculturists, although well represented in business circles and professional life as well.
Aretus Allen Westerfield spent his boyhood amid the agricultural surroundings of the home farm and received his preliminary educational training in the country schools and in the public schools of Hartford, Kentucky. While his early training at home had been along agricultural lines, he did not fancy the life of a farmer, and when he showed a marked predilection for the medical profession his parents wisely allowed him to pursue his inclinations and he eventually entered Barnes Medical College, which is now merged with the University of Louisville. After completing a course of three years he graduated in medicine from that institution in 1896, receiving his degree of Doctor of Medicine, and in the same year located at Utica, where he has since been engaged in a general practice. He has built up a large and lucrative practice and is accounted one of the highly skilled medical and surgical practitioners of Daviess County. Professionally he belongs to the emancipated class whose mind is open to light and who sanction the beliefs of the past only so far as they are in harmony with the greater progress and enlightenment of the present. He takes time to investigate the new order of things and has the breadth of mind to judge wisely yet conservatively. A great capacity for painstaking accomplishment constitutes one of his chief mental assets, as well as a genuine liking for the great amount of work entailed by his supreme allegiance to a fascinating and inexhaustible science. Dr. Westerfield is a valued and popular member of the Daviess County Medical Society, the Kentucky State Medical Society and the American Medical Association. He is social in his tendencies, and out of his busy life finds time for relaxations and diversions, being a member of the Masons, the Modern Woodmen and the Odd Fellows. His political support is given to the democratic party, and his religious faith is that of the Baptist Church. In 1897 Doctor Westerfield married Miss Hettie Howard, daughter of A. G. Howard, of Daviess County.
CLARENCE WESTERFIELD. As county tax commissioner of Daviess County Mr. Westerfield is one of the best known citizens of his county and is also widely known over the state. He has set a high standard of efficiency in his office and has the benefit of many years of experience in the Court House at Owensboro and a thorough business training. He is a native of Ohio County, where the Westerfields are a numerous and prominent family. His parents, William H. and Nancy (Chapman) Westerfield, were both born in Ohio County. His father fought three years for the Confederate cause during the war, was always a stanch democrat, was a Master Mason and a member of the Baptist Church. He lived on his farm in Ohio County until 1903, when he bought a farm near Masonville in Daviess County, and on that spent the rest of his life. He died in 1912 at the age of sixty-nine. He was three times married. His first wife was Josie Birk, a daughter of Daniel Birk of Ohio County. Her two children were Mollie and Charlie. After her death William H. Westerfield married Nancy Chapman, who died in 1898. She was the mother of Clarence, Herbert and Bertha Westerfield. For his third wife William H. Westerfield married Miss Fannie Westerfield, now deceased, who was a well known and able school teacher for many years both in Kentucky and western states. Clarence Westerfield, whose general worth and popularity are attested by the fact that he outgrew the burden of the nickname of "Dude," was born on his father's Ohio farm September 21, 1892, and was only six years of age when his mother died. He was eleven when the family came to Daviess County, and he grew up on the farm near Masonville, finishing his education in the country schools. His life was the routine of a farm until nineteen, and when he left home he became a wagon driver at six dollars a week for the Mullen & Haynes wholesale drug company of Owensboro. A year later he had advanced so far in proficiency and the confidence of the company that they put him on the road as a traveling salesman, and for three years he steadily added to the volume of trade of that concern. Mr. Westerfield early became interested in politics, and his first public office was as deputy county assessor under A. S. Tyner. He was Mr. Tyner's assistant four years, and with the election of the late R. C. Clark as county assessor Mr. Westerfield was put in charge of the office and had the responsibilities of handling the details of office throughout the four-year term of Mr. Clark. In the meantime the Legislature had changed the title of the office to that of county tax commissioner. Following his eight years as deputy assessor Mr. Westerfield in 1917 was elected for the full term of four years as county tax commissioner, beginning his duties in January, 1918. He has performed the delicate and difficult duties of tax commissioner with such discrimination and good judgment as to win the approval of the great bulk of tax payers in Daviess County. His duties require frequent attendance at the state capital, where he has gained a large acquaintance with men in public life in Kentucky. Mr. Westerfield is one of the leading democrats of his county, and is a member of the Order of Elks. In March, 1912, he married Miss Jessie Roll, daughter of Dr. J. B. Roll, of Daviess County.
ERNEST WOODARD. The possession of more than ordinary abilities and a remarkable energy and diligence in going about his work accounts for the rather rapid succession of honors and promotions that have marked the career of Ernest Woodard as a lawyer. At the age of forty-four he enjoys a post of great responsibility as general attorney for the Louisville & Nashville Railroad Company. Mr. Woodard was born at Hartford in Ohio County, Kentucky, November 18, 1877. Hartford was also the birthplace of his parents, William T. and Lucy (Paul) Woodard. His father was born May 22, 1848, and his mother July 10, 1849. Ernest is the second in a family of three sons and four daughters, all of whom are living. His father was well educated in his native county, attending Hartford College, and during his mature career he has been a prosperous general farmer and tobacco grower. He is a member of Hartford Lodge No. 675, F. and A. M.; Lodge No. 110, Knights of Pythias; and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows; is a Presbyterian and votes as a democrat. Ernest Woodard likewise attended public school in Ohio County, was a pupil in Hartford College, and studied law in the office of Ben D. Ringo at Hartford. He was admitted by examination to the bar in 1899, and earned his early successes as a lawyer at Hartford. In 1915 he moved to Henderson, and since 1917 has practiced at Louisville. He was county attorney of Ohio County from 1905 to 1910, and from 1911 until May 1, 1921, was district attorney for the Louisville, Henderson & St. Louis Railway Company. He assumed his duties as general attorney for the Louisville & Nashville on May 1, 1921. Prior to that time he had been engaged in private practice with Charles H. Moorman, under the name Moorman & Woodard. Mr. Woodard is a member of the Pendennis Club, Henderson Lodge of Elks, Henderson Lodge, F. and A. M., Hartford Chapter, R. A. M., and Owensboro Commandery No. 25, K. T. He voices his political sentiment as a republican. On January 4, 1910, Mr. Woodard married Alice
Fielden. Their two sons and two daughters are Alice, Elizabeth, Fielden and Ernest.
History of Kentucky, Vol. 4
By: William Elsey Connelley and E. M. Coulter
Published 1922 by The American Historical Society
ROBERT S. AMBROSE. Though at the time he left high school be did not have a dollar in capital and had no wealthy family connections or influential friends to start him, Robert S. Ambrose learned the lumber business by steady and diligent application, has neglected no opportunities in his upward climb, and is now sole owner of one of the largest lumber yards in western Kentucky, with a complete equipment of buildings, sheds and offices. This business is at Hopkinsville, but for many years Mr. Ambrose was in the lumber business at Henderson. He was born in Grayson County, Kentucky, June 29, 1874. His grandfather, Lewis Ambrose, was a native of England and as a young man came to America and settled in Ohio County, Kentucky, where in the course of time he developed some extensive holdings in farm lands. He died in Ohio County, during the Civil war. His wife was a Miss Chapman, a member of an Ohio County family of that name, where she spent all her life. Benjamin W. Ambrose, father of Robert S., was born in Ohio County in 1841 grew up there and lived as a farmer, and in 1886 moved to Daviess County, Kentucky, and in 1890 to Henderson, where he lived retired until his death in 1917. He was a Confederate soldier during the war between the states, enlisting almost at the beginning of the struggle in a Kentucky regiment at Madisonville. He participated in the battles of Shiloh, Chickamauga, Lookout Mountain, Missionary Ridge and Vicksburg. He was once wounded in the arm, and was in a hospital for some time. He was also taken prisoner near the end of the war, and was confined near Chicago until the surrender of Lee. In politics he was a stanch democrat, and was one of the leading members of the Baptist Church in his community. Benjamin W. Ambrose married Elizabeth Paris, who was born in Ohio County in 1852 and is now living at the city of Henderson. She was the mother of the following children: Alice, the oldest, died unmarried at the age of twenty-two and the next two were twin daughters, Matilda and Edith, both of whom died at the age of nineteen. Edith was the wife of Sidney McCann, a carpenter at Henderson, now deceased. The next in the family is Robert S. Lillian, who died at Henderson at the age of thirty, married Charles Cecil, now foreman in a cotton mill at Henderson. Claude died at Henderson at the age of twenty-one and Birdie, the youngest, is the wife of Leon Busby, a railroad man living at Henderson. Robert S. Ambrose acquired his early education in the public schools of Henderson, graduating from high school in 1893. Lie gained his first knowledge of the lumber industry in a planing mill at Henderson, next went to a planing mill at Owensboro, where he remained a year, for six years was foreman of H. W. Clark's planing mill at Henderson, and in 1901 set up in the lumber business for himself at Henderson. He sold lumber in that city until October, 1915, when he moved to Hopkinsville and established himself in the lumber business with a complete new equipment of yards and offices on East Seventh Street, between Clay Street and the Louisville and Nashville Railway, and extending from Seventh to Eighth streets. He is sole proprietor of this business, and handles all classes of lumber and general building supplies. He is also a large property owner at Henderson, and his substantial prosperity has all been built up and acquired through a steady working career beginning a quarter of a century ago. Mr. Ambrose is a democrat, is a deacon in the Baptist Church at Henderson, is affiliated with Henderson Lodge of Elks and the I. O. O. F. and is a member of the Traveling Men's Association. Mr. Ambrose first married at Carmi, Illinois, in 1893, Miss Catherine Lipp. She was born in Tell City, Indiana, and died at Henderson February 16, 1916. She was the mother of two children: Clyde S., who died at Henderson at the age of twenty-three years, and Irma, who was married in 1919 to Frank Koewler, a merchant at Henderson. On January 14, 1920, Mr. Ambrose married in Hopkinsville Mrs. Alberta (Hisgen) Moorefield, widow of Robert Moorefield and daughter of Mr. and Airs. C. H. Hisgen. Her mother is still living, in Hopkinsville, where her father died. Her father was a painting and decorating contractor and a skillful artist in his line.
GEORGE W. BALES. The personal efficiency of Mr. Bales has pervaded his administration of the office of sheriff of Daviess County, and his administration is the more notable because he was the first republican ever elected to that post of responsibility in this county. Mr. Bales, a resident of Daviess County many years
and well known both in the country districts and the City of Owensboro, was born in Ohio County, Kentucky, January 19, 1875, son of John H. and Eliza (Ray) Bales. His parents were born, reared and married near Knoxville, Tennessee. His father was a Union man at the time of the Civil war and served in the Third Union Tennessee Infantry and was wounded in battle. After the war he settled in Ohio County, Kentucky, and lived as a farmer until his death in 1880. He was survived by four sons and a daughter and his widow, who now lives at Pleasant Ridge in Daviess County. George W. Bales grew up in the Pleasant Ridge community, acquired a common school education, and early launched himself into serious tasks and responsibilities. He began dealing in livestock at an early age and continued that business for twenty years, offering an important medium between the growers and the breeders and the markets. The better to handle his business he removed from Pleasant Ridge to Owensboro in 1906, and that city has been his home for fifteen years. Mr. Bales made his successful campaign for election as county sheriff in the fall of 1917, and began his four year term in January, 1918. He is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the fraternity of which his father was also a member. In January, 1921, he was made a director in the First National Bank of Owensboro, and is one of the stockholders in the institution. He is president of the county fair association and active in public affairs. In 1906 Mr. Bales married Miss Minnie Daly, of Ohio County, who died April 12, 1921. They had two children, named Daly Ray and Josephine. Mr. Bales is a member of the First Baptist Church of Owensboro, as was also Mrs. Bales.
JAMES HUNTER BELL, one of the enterprising farmers and highly esteemed citizens of Daviess County, lives two miles east of Owensboro. He was born in the City of Louisville, Kentucky, December 6, 1844, and is a son of William and Louisa (Ewing) Bell. William Bell was born at Glass Loch, County Monahan, Ireland, in 1790, and died in Daviess County, Kentucky, in 1865. He was a son of John and Elizabeth (Dobbin) Bell, the former of Irish and latter of French origin, and both of them lived and died in Ireland. The name Bell is of Scotch origin, and Adam Bell having emigrated from Scotland to Ireland as early as 1689. William Bell came to the United States when he was nineteen years old, and first lived at Reading, Pennsylvania, but later moved to Harrodsburg, Kentucky. Still later he resided at Shelbyville and Louisville, Kentucky. At Harrodsburg and Shelbyville he was engaged in merchandising, and when he went to
Louisville became interested in the wholesale dry goods trade, and from 1827 until 1844 remained in that line. In the latter year he sold his business and came to Daviess County, where he bought a farm of 1,000 acres of land to the East of Owensboro, and here he lived out the remainder of his life, a period of twenty-one years, during that time devoting himself to the pursuit of agriculture. He was twice married, his first wife having been Mary Allison, whom he married at Shelbyville, and she bore him the following children: John, Robert, William and Mary E. For his second wife, William Bell married at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Louisa Elizabeth Ewing. She was born at Trenton, New Jersey, May 24, 1804, and died December 3, 1888. Her parents were Maskell and Jane (Hunter) Ewing, the former, born in 1758, serving as a soldier in the American Revolution. He later became a lawyer and died in 1825. His parents were Maskell and Mary C. (Paget) Ewing, and his grandparents were Thomas and Mary (Maskell) Ewing. Thomas Ewing was the American progenitor of the family, having come to this country from Glasgow, Scotland, in 1718, after a period of some years spent in Ireland. Upon his arrival in the American Colonies he located at Greenwich, New Jersey. The Bells and Ewings have been Presbyterians in religious faith and are noted for strong force of character, high standards in living and thrift and industry. James Hunter Bell and a sister, Louisa, his senior, were born of the second marriage of William Bell, and he was only a month old when his parents moved to Daviess County, and since then he has made it his home. He received a good elementary education, and was a student in college when his father died in 1865. Leaving his studies, he came home and assumed charge of the homestead, and has never been without farming interests since that time, although for eight years he was one of the owners and the manager of the Daviess County distillery, and from 1896 to 1904 was a buyer, rehandler and exporter of tobacco. On November 5, 1872, James Hunter Bell was united in marriage with Elizabeth Woolfolk, of Daviess County, who died in 1880, having borne her husband four children. On October 17, 1882, Mr. Bell was married to Miss Emily Craig, a native of Daviess County, and a daughter of Robert and Mary Jane (McHenry) Craig. Her father was a native of Scotland and her mother of Ohio County, Kentucky. The following children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Bell: Mary, who died in 1920, and Nannie, James Hunter, Ewing Craig, Elenor C, (now Mrs. Birk), Robert Maskell, Edward Hobbs Luckett, all of whom are living. Mr. and Mrs. Bell are members of the Presbyterian Church. In politics he is a democrat. Their house is one of the oldest in Daviess County, and is a hewn log structure, plastered and weather-boarded, of Colonial style, and here a generous hospitality is extended to the many friends of the family. Mr. Bell is a progressive man both in his business and civic ideas, and is proud of his family, community, state and nation.
JAMES H. CATE, president of the Cate Milling Company of Hopkinsville, Kentucky, has been identified with the business here since 1897, and during the long period of his connection with flour milling has become one of the best known figures in the industry in this part of the state. His career has been one of great industry and worthy accomplishment, and his business, in its growth from a modest beginning to its present large proportions, has reflected his untiring energy and high ideals of business honor. Mr. Cate was born at Owensboro, Kentucky, June 29, 1864, a son of James and Mary (Phipps) Cate. The family originated in Wales, whence the first American ancestor came during Colonial times and settled in New York, and it was in that state, at Rochester, that James Cate was born in 1835. He was reared there, but in young manhood moved to Louisville, Kentucky, where he put up a woolen mill, subsequently starting the first power loom south of the Ohio River. Later Mr. Cate removed to Hartford, Ohio County, this state, where he was married, and then went to Owensboro and engaged in business as a manufacturer of woolen goods. In 1868 he went to Rumsey, Kentucky, where he conducted his own woolen mill until 1892, in which year he formed a partnership with R. Monarch and built a woolen mill at Owensboro, two years later retiring and disposing of his interests. He has since made his home with his son James H. at Hopkinsville. Mr. Cate is a democrat, a strong churchman of the Methodist Episcopal faith and a zealous Mason. He married Miss Mary Phipps, who was born in 1838, in Ohio County, Kentucky, and died at Rumsey in 1871, and they became the parents of three children: Frances, who died as the wife of the late Dr. L. A. King, a dental practitioner of Henderson, Kentucky; James H.; and Sarah Phipps, the wife of W. M. Armistead, an insurance man of Nashville, Tennessee. James H. Cate was given his educational training in the public schools of McLean County, Kentucky, and at Vanderbilt University, Nashville, from which institution he was graduated in 1887 with the degree of Bachelor of Science. During his college career he joined the Kappa Sigma Greek letter college fraternity, in which he still retains membership. Following his graduation Mr. Cate engaged in the sawmill and lumber business in McLean County for ten years, and in 1897 came to Hopkinsville and bought a flour mill situated on East Ninth Street, adjoining the present city limits. His elder son, James Cate, was later admitted to partnership and the business was operated as James Cate & Son until the mill was destroyed by fire September 2, 1918, following which an incorporation was effected to succeed the original incorporation of 1907, the articles of corporation were amended, and the business adopted the present style of Cate Milling Company. The present officers of the concern are: James H. Cate, president and general manager; James Cate, treasurer; and George Cate, secretary. The present modern mills have a daily capacity of 100 barrels of flour, 600 bushels of corn meal and ten tons of feed. Mr. Cate is a democrat, although not an active politician. He has always supported worthy movements, particularly during the World War period, when he subscribed liberally and worked effectively in behalf of the local and national activities, and for six years has been a member of the Hopkinsville Board of Education. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and superintendent of the Sunday School. The comfortable Cate residence occupies one of the finest residential locations of Hopkinsville, at 1010 East Ninth Street. In 1887, at Nashville, Tennessee, Mr. Cate was united in marriage with Miss Anna Armistead, daughter of G. W. and Annie M. (Harrison) Armistead, the latter of whom resides with her son-in-law, while the former, who was an editor and lecturer, is deceased. Mrs. Cate died in 1896, leaving five children : Annie, residing with her father, the widow of Frank King, Jr., a former cotton buyer in the South; James H., Jr., who enlisted in July, 1918, in the United States army, was sent to Camp Taylor and commissioned a second lieutenant, and was given his honorable discharge in December, 1918, since which time he has been connected with the freight department of theNashville, Chicago & St. Louis Railroad at Nashville; John M., who enlisted in the United States army in May, 1918, was sent to Camp Taylor and detailed to an artillery corps, and was mustered out of the artillery service in November, 1918, since which time he has followed the profession of law at Nashville; Dr. William R., a practicing physician and surgeon in charge of Ivey Hospital at Sougdo, Korea, a Methodist institution; and George H., who enlisted in the United States Navy, in May, 1918, was placed on the training ship New Orleans, and mustered out of the service in November, 1918, since which time he has been secretary of the Cate Milling Company at Hopkinsville. In 1899, at Nashville, James H. Cate, Sr., married Miss Mary Lucenia Armistead, a younger sister of his first wife, and to this union there have been born the following children: Wirt M., a student at Emery University, Atlanta, Georgia; Mary Lucenia, Elizabeth and Margaret, who are attending Hopkinsville High School; Margaret, Dorothy, Wilbur and Frances, who are attending the graded schools; and Randolph and Martha, at home.
ALEXANDER CLEVELAND FOSTER, M. D. An educator of successful distinction before he became a physician, Doctor Foster has for over twenty years been one of the able members of the profession in Kentucky, and since 1909 has been established at Owensboro, where in addition to a general practice he has achieved special reputation in diseases of women and children. Doctor Foster was born at Hartford, Ohio County, Kentucky, September 25, 1862, son of William and Sarah Jane (Carson) Foster. William Foster, a native of County Down, Ireland, came at the age of seven years with his parents to the United States and grew to manhood at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. When twenty-four years of age he came south, and in McLean County married for his first wife Susan Bennett. He finally established a home in Ohio County, where he devoted the best years of his life to farming. He had a progressive spirit, and as a farmer he exemplified some of the ideas and practice that were years in advance of prevailing agricultural methods. He worked along practical and experimental lines, but was also fond of books and literature, read extensively the agricultural journals of his day, and was a man of wide information. He believed heartily in education as a general principle and gave all his children the best possible advantages, though he reared a large family. The children of his first marriage were: John P., a farmer, who died at the age of sixty two; Lydia A., wife of Rev. R. D. Bennett, of Hartford, Kentucky; Sophie E., wife of K. H. Howard, of Detroit, Michigan; Martha A., widow of C. L. Woodward, of Baton Rouge, Louisiana; and Melissa, who died at Bellaire, Ohio, the wife of Robert McDonald. After the death of the mother of these children William Foster married Sarah Jane Carson, of Ohio County, also a native of Kentucky, and related to the historic western scout and frontiersman Kit Carson. The oldest of her children is Dr. Alexander Cleveland Foster. The second, Isaac Foster, is a building contractor at Hartford, Kentucky, Joseph is a farmer at Marion, Kentucky, William has for over fifteen years been professor of chemistry in Princeton University at Princeton, New Jersey, and Richard Leland, the youngest, is a successful physician at Danville, Boyle County, Kentucky. These sons who have achieved such distinctive places in life give a high degree of credit to their honored father and mother. The father died in 1904, at the age of eighty-one. He was a man of fine character, both in heart and mind, and the relations he sustained to his home and family and his community justified the high regard in which he was held and the esteem that continues after him. The mother, who died at the age of seventy-one, was noted for her Christian character and influence. Alexander Cleveland Foster grew up on his father's farm, and had the desire to profit by the educational advantages afforded him during his youth. He attended Hartford College and Business Institute, receiving the B. S. and M. S. degrees in the above named institution, and the first ten years after reaching his majority was identified with educational work. After teaching a year in the public schools of his native state he went to Texas, was identified with public school work several years and in 1892 founded East Texas College at Lufkin, Texas. He built up that institution and made it prosperous for three years, and then sold the property and returned to his native state and entered the University of Louisville, medical department, where he graduated in 1897, with the degree of M. D. The following twelve years he engaged in private practice at Morganfield in Union County, and in 1909 moved to Owensboro. He is a member of the Owensboro City and Daviess County Medical societies, and the Kentucky State and American Medical associations. As frequently as possible he has renewed contact with the original sources of learning and experience in medical science, and in the lecture room and clinic has kept in touch with many of the world's eminent physicians and surgeons. He has twice taken postgraduate courses at the New York Polyclinic, the Chicago Policlinic and New Orleans Polyclinic, and during a residence abroad attended courses and clinics in the University of Edinburgh, Scotland, and at London, England. Through these post-graduate courses he has specialized in obstetrics and pediatrics and is regarded as one of the ablest men in those special fields in Western Kentucky. Busy with his profession, he has sought no participation in practical politics though he is a stanch democrat. He is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and Knights of Pythias and is a Methodist. His first wife was Miss Laura Manning, daughter of Dr. W. W. Manning of Texas. Several years after her death he married Miss Helen Vowels, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Lafe Vowels of Owensboro. Doctor Foster is thorough-going in everything he undertakes. He was successful as an educator, and has found even broader opportunities for service and work as a physician.
C. H. FRAIM, who was in the navy during the World war, is one of the progressive young business men and bankers of Eastern Kentucky. For several years prior to and after his service he was with the Rockport Deposit Bank, but is now cashier of the Beaver Valley State Bank of Weeksbury. He was born near Rockport in Ohio County, August 12, 1896. He is of Scotch ancestry. His great-grandfather Fraim was a pioneer settler of Grayson County, Kentucky, coming west from Virginia. His grandfather, Austin Fraim, was born in Grayson County in 1835, and devoted a long and active life to farming, though he also was connected with several stores. He died in 1910, near Spring Lick in Grayson County. W. S. Fraim, his son, was born in Grayson County in 1864, and is now a resident of Rockport. He was reared and married in his native county, and soon afterward moved to a farm two miles north of Rockport. In the past he has been extensively engaged in the agricultural industry, but now leases his farm and since November, 1919, has lived retired in Rockport. He is a member of the town board of trustees of Rockport, a republican in politics, is affiliated with Warsaw Tribe No. 73, Improved Order of Red Men, and is a member of the Lone Star Baptist Church near Rockport. W. S. Fraim married Nancy Ellen Payton, who was born in Grayson County in 1864. They have three children, Bennie L., C. H. and Dayton. The youngest is employed in a store at McHenry, Kentucky. Bennie L., now bookkeeper for the Beaver Dam Coal Company at McHenry, is also a veteran of the World war, and spent thirteen months in service in France. C. H. Fraim was educated in the rural schools of Ohio County and lived on his father's farm until after he had completed his education. He also attendedthe Hartford High School, taking the normal course. Leaving school in 1916, he was clerk in the store of the Rockport Coal Company from September 4, 1916, until May 5, 1917. At the latter date he became assistant cashier of the Rockport Deposit Bank. On June I, 1918, Mr. Fraim left his duties in the bank to serve the nation, was sent to the Great Lakes Naval Training Station at Chicago, and on the first of July was transferred to the Brooklyn Navy Yard, and on the twelfth of that month was assigned to duty on the U. S. S. Montana. On this warship he made three trips of convoy duty across the Atlantic, continuing until December, 1918. He was then sent to Bumpkin Island, and was released January 11,1919. He immediately returned home and took up his former duties with the bank at Rockport, and on February 25, 1919, was elected cashier. The Rockport Deposit Bank was established under a state charter in January, 1904. On April 10, 1921, Mr. Fraim resigned to accept a similar position, on April 18th, with the Beaver Valley State Bank at Weeksbury, Floyd County, located in the Kentucky mountains. This bank was organized and commenced business June 4, 1918, and has enjoyed and is still enjoying a profitable business. At the close of 1921 its resources were over a hundred and ten thousand dollars, and they reflect the sturdy and growing prosperity of one of the smaller towns of Eastern Kentucky. The officers of this bank are: John E. Buckingham, president, who is also president of the Ashland National Bank; George P. Archer, vice president, and cashier of the Bank Josephine at Prestonsburg; H. R. Laughlin, vice president, and superintendent of the Long Fork division of the Baltimore & Ohio; F. M. Addis, vice president, and superintendent of the Elkhorn Piney Coal Mining Company; C. H. Fraim, cashier; L. A. Johnson, assistant cashier; while the directors are J. E. Buckingham, H. R. Laughlin, G. P. Archer. F. M. Addis, W. J. Johnson, J. D. Hatfield, E. C. Slade, C. H. Fraim and T. T. Webb. Mr. Fraim, who is unmarried, is owner of considerable real estate, and is a stockholder in the Comet Automobile Company of Decatur, Illinois. He is a republican, and in Masonry is affiliated with Rockport Lodge No. 312, F. and A. M., Central Chapter No. 147, R. A. M., Central City Commandery of the Knights Templars, and Rizpah Temple of the Mystic Shrine at Madisonville. He is also a member of Rockport Lodge No. 316, Independent Order of Odd Fellows.
ZEPHANIAH HARREL was introduced to the practical game of life when a boy of fourteen or fifteen, did a great deal of arduous and rough work in mines and lumber camps, and with his maturing experience and ability took up a career as a merchant and for many years past has been associated with a brother conducting one of the largest stores of Ohio County at Rockport, where he enjoys an enviable place as a citizen. Mr. Harrel was born in Butler County, Kentucky, May 5, 1868. The name Harrel is of Irish lineage. His grandfather, Noah Harrel, born in 1801, was a pioneer farmer of Grayson County, Kentucky, and late in life moved to Rockport, where he died in 1873. He married Miss Craig, who also died in Rockport. Their son, Uriah Blue Harrel, was born in Grayson County in 1834 and was reared and married in that county. When the Civil war came on he espoused the cause of the Union, enlisted in Company G of the Eleventh Kentucky Infantry, and for four years fought for the Stars and Stripes and the integrity of the state. Shortly after his marriage he moved to Butler County, where he became a fanner, and in 1872 he came down the Green River on a log raft to Rockport, where he re-established himself as a carpenter and farmer, only to be interrupted by death eight years later, in 1880. He was a republican, a member of the Baptist Church and was affiliated with Ceralvo Lodge No. 253, F. and A. M. His wife was Jane Hunter, who was born at Evansville, Indiana, in 1842, and survived her husband forty years, passing away at Henderson, Kentucky, in February, 1920. She was the mother of seven children: M. F. Harrel, a farmer at Rockport; A. M. Harrel, who is a carpenter in Cloverport, Kentucky; L. F. Harrel, now waterworks foreman of the Illinois Central Railroad Company at Grenada, Mississippi; Zephaniah; Agnes, of Henderson, widow of Warren Nichols, a railroad man who died at Rockport; Mattie, wife of Luther Camfield, a carpenter and builder at Henderson; and Alma, wife of Emery Tilford, a miner living at Rockport. Zephaniah Harrel was twelve years old when his father died. He attended the public schools of Rockport and also was in school at the Masonic Home in Louisville. At fourteen his education was ended, and from that time for several years he made a living
in the mines and logging camps around Rockport. From 1889 to 1895 he was an employee of the Newport News Railroad Company, and then returned to Rockport and became a partner in the mercantile firm of Gibbs Brothers. The partnership was dissolved in 1898, and in that year Zephaniah Harrel and his brother, L. F. Harrel, joined forces as general merchants, and in twenty years have expanded and increased their business until it is now one of the largest stores in this part of Kentucky. They do an immense business, and are leaders in enterprise in their home town. They own a large store building, also own and operate the moving picture theater of Rockport, and have six dwelling houses and other real estate at Rockport. Mr. Harrel saw his son volunteer at the beginning of the World war, and his interest and enthusiasm in behalf of all patriotic movements were unabated until after the signing of the armistice. He and Mrs. Harrel served on every committee for war purposes and the filling of every quota for their community they regarded as a burden upon their individual responsibility. They promoted a show and gave all the proceeds to the Red Cross. Mr. Harrel is a republican, is affiliated with Rockport Lodge No. 312, F. and A. M. Mrs. Harrel is a member of the Eastern Star Chapter No. 103, and also a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. In 1898, at Jeffersonville, Indiana, he married Jessie Brown, who was born in Ohio County, Kentucky, and died at Rockport in 1906. She became the mother of his two children, Ray and Nora. The latter is Mrs. Walker, of Louisville. The son, Ray, was born September 24, 1898, and was only a youth when in July, 1917, he volunteered for service in the World war. He was in training at Camp Stanley in Lexington until the 25th of July, was then sent to Camp Shelby, Mississippi, was assigned to the infantry and on September 12, 1918, embarked for overseas duty, landing at Southampton, England, October 9th, at Havre, France, October 11th , spent two weeks at St. Sebastian, a suburb of Nantes, and for nine days was on duty at Le Mans and until December 30, 1918, was stationed at La Suze. He was then ordered to Brest, and after days at that port embarked for home. He was mustered out at Camp Sherman, Ohio, February 8, 1919, being discharged as a sergeant, and is now assistant cashier in the Rockport Deposit Bank. In 1910, at Louisville, Mr. Harrel married Miss Elizabeth Stevens, daughter of J. P. and Elizabeth (Taylor) Stevens. Her mother is living at Hartford, Kentucky. Her father was at one time sheriff of Ohio County, living in Hartford, and died there. Mrs. Harrel is prominent in social affairs in her home city, and is also a director in the Rockport Deposit Bank.
WILLIAM PEYTON KINCHELOE, banker, manager of the Louisville branch of the Federal Reserve Bank, is one of the prominent figures in financial circles in Kentucky, and is a brother of Congressman D. Kincheloe of the Second Kentucky District. Mr. Kincheloe was born in McLean County, Kentucky, on his father's farm, December 19, 1880, son of Robert McFarlin and Lucy Ann (Reeks) Kincheloe. His parents were both native Kentuckians. His grandparents, Thomas and Minerva (McFarlin) Kincheloe, were also born in Kentucky, and his grandfather spent his active life as a farmer in Daviess County, was a democrat and a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. South. The maternal grandfather of Mr. Kincheloe was Thomas Reeks, a well known farmer in his time in McLean County. Robert M. Kincheloe was born in Rumsey, Muhlenberg County, now McLean County, December 23, 1839, was educated in the schools there and for a number of years was a successful teacher in country districts. Later he engaged in farming in McLean County and was a successful breeder of harness horses. He retired from his farm in 1900, and is now living at Sacramento in McLean County. He served as county assessor of McLean County eight years, and was a member of the State Legislature during the long session of 1891-92-93. He is active in the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, is a member of the Masonic fraternity and a stanch democrat. His wife was born in Logan County and is now deceased. They were the parents of five sons and two daughters: Phoebe, wife of F. F. Gibson; Jennie M., widow of James R. Morgan; Thomas Thurman, who married Anna Gish; Charles Alexander, who married Margaret Bibb; David Hayes, who was born in 1877, admitted to the Kentucky bar in 1899 and has practiced at Madisonville, was elected to represent the Second Kentucky District in Congress in 1914, and was re-elected for his fourth consecutive term; William P., who is the sixth in age; and Robert Duvall. William Peyton Kincheloe was educated in the public schools of Daviess County, spent three years in school at Frankfort, graduated in 1899 from Sacramento Academy of his home county, and completed the work of the Bowling Green Business College in 1900. For about three years he engaged in teaching and for four years was in the general merchandise business at Elk City, Oklahoma. Returning to Kentucky, he entered upon his banking career in August, 1905, with the Home Deposit Bank at Central City as bookkeeper, was promoted to assistant cashier and when the bank became the First National Bank of Central City he was made cashier. He resigned this post in November, 1913, to become a national bank examiner, and the four years he spent in that office gave him a wide acquaintance among Kentucky bankers and a thorough knowledge of banking conditions. It was with the hearty support and commendation of Kentucky banking interests that he was appointed in August, 1917, as manager and chairman of the board of directors of the Louisville branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. He handled many of the details of organization of this branch, which was opened for business December 3, 1917. Mr. Kincheloe on November 21, 1919, was appointed aide de camp on Gov. James D. Black's staff with the rank of colonel. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, is affiliated with Sacramento Lodge No. 735, F. & A. M.; Central City Chapter No. 147, R. A. M.; Owensboro Commandery No. 15, K. T.; and Mizpah Temple of the Mystic Shrine at Madisonville. September 11, 1911, Mr. Kincheloe married Miss Blanche Muir, who was born in Ohio County, Kentucky, daughter of John A. and Margaret O. (Hunley) Muir. Her parents were also born in Ohio County and her father died in 1917, at the age of fifty-two and her mother is still living. Mrs. Kincheloe is the oldest of three sons and two daughters. Her father for many years was in the signal department of the Illinois Central Railway Company, was a democrat in politics and a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. Mr. and Mrs. Kincheloe have one son, William Peyton, Jr.
EUGENE MCCABE. No man can render an efficient service in the office of sheriff unless he is utterly fearless, rigidly upright, and possessed of an innate knowledge of human nature which enables him to understand men and the motives which govern them, especially those of a criminal turn of mind. When the people of a county elect a man to this responsible office they put their seal of approval upon him, for, realizing that their safety for the succeeding four years is in his hands, they are more careful about his selection than they are in choosing any other official. Grayson County has had some able men in this responsible office, but none of them made a better record than the present incumbent, Eugene McCabe, is furnishing, and his efficiency and thorough-going methods are making his name a terror to evildoers in this part of the state. Mr. McCabe has long been a well-known figure in the county as one of the foremost agriculturists, but his actions since elected sheriff have given him added prestige which will not easily be forgotten. Eugene McCabe was born at Piedmont, Virginia, April 6, 1871, a son of Barney McCabe, who was horn in County Cavin, Ireland, in 1844, and died at Leitchfield, Kentucky, in 1913. He was reared and educated in his native county, but came to the United States in 1862 and became a coal miner of Frostburg, Maryland, where he was married, but a year later left for Piedmont, Virginia. Later he moved to McHenry, Ohio County, Kentucky, and was the pioneer coal miner of that neighborhood, and the first to open operations in the coal fields. In time he became one of the extensive coal operators of that region and a very prominent citizen, who held the confidence and esteem of all who knew him. In politics be was a republican. Barney McCabe married Margaret Ryan, who was born at Frostburg, Maryland, in 1848. She survives her husband and makes her home with Sheriff McCabe. Their children were as follows: Eugene, who was the first born; Margaret, who married J. J. McClure, a farmer of Clarkson, Kentucky; Mary, who married Dr. Isaac Lynch, a physician and surgeon of Breckinridge County, Kentucky; Biddie, who married Warren Payton, principal of the high school at Beaver Dam, Ohio County, Kentucky; Henry, who is an oil worker of Grayson County; and Katie, who married Dr. W. H. McConnell, a physician and surgeon and farmer of Altus, Oklahoma. Eugene McCabe attended the rural schools of Grayson County until he was twenty-one years old, and at the same time learned habits of industry and thrift under the watchful care of his estimable and practical parents. Until 1912 he was actively occupied with farming, but in that year he was appointed deputy sheriff of Grayson County, and held that office until he was elected sheriff in November, 1917, as the candidate of the republican party, and assumed the duties of the office in January, 1918, for a term of four years. His offices are located in the courthouse. He still owns his fine farm of 250 acres of land four miles southwest of Leitchfield, and has attained to a wide-spread celebrity as a breeder of White-Face thoroughbred cattle. He is a republican and served as a magistrate in Grayson County for four years, and in every office he has held Sheriff McCabe has proved his worth as a man and official. Sheriff McCabe belongs to the Roman Catholic Church. He is a member of the Knights of Columbus, being a third degree knight of Elizabethtown Council of that fraternity, and he also belongs to Pennyroyal Camp. M. W. A. His comfortable, modern residence on Mill Street is owned by him. During the period this country was at war he took a zealous part in all of the local activities, assisting in all of the drives, buying bonds and stamps, and contributing to the different war organizations to the full limit of his means. On February 1, 1918, Sheriff McCabe married at Leitchfield Miss Annie McClure, a daughter of E. and Mary Theressa (Edelen) McClure. Mrs. McClure is deceased, but Mr. McClure survives and makes his home with Sheriff and Mrs. McCabe. In former years he was a farmer and tobacco dealer, but is now retired.
JOHN O. MCKENNEY, M. D. In the community of Beaver Dam, Ohio County, where he began practice in 1905, Doctor McKenney is now the oldest physician and surgeon from the point of continuous service, and by his diligence and skill in caring for the health of the people and his leadership in other ways he has become esteemed as one of Beaver Dam's most useful citizens. The McKenneys are a Scotch family early settled in Virginia. Doctor McKenney's grandfather, William McKenney, was born in Virginia in 1819. Early in life he moved to Butler County, Kentucky, where he followed his trade as a blacksmith and also owned a farm. He died at Rochester in that county in 1887. His wife was Armilda James who died at Logansport, Kentucky. Their son, J. P. McKenney, was born in Butler County in 1850 and in early life took up merchandising and developed an extensive business in Butler County. Later he went on the road for a wholesale shoe company of Louisville and St. Louis, and traveled out of those cities for about forty years, covering Western Kentucky. He was an excellent businessman, had great personal charm and affability and was esteemed in nearly every town in the western part of the state. He had moved his home to Beaver Dam in 1883 and in 1914 he retired from business and died at Beaver Dam in 1915. He was a democrat and a member of the Christian Church. Outside his home and business perhaps his chief business and enthusiasm was in the Masonic order. For many years he was master of Beaver Dam Lodge No. 420, F. and A. M., and it is said that he raised more men in the order than any other master in Western Kentucky. He was also a Knight Templar, being affiliated with Beaver Dam Chapter R. A. M. and Owensboro Commandery No. 15 K. T. J. P. McKenney married Elizabeth Hays, who was born at Rochester, Kentucky, in 1857, and
died at Beaver Dam in 1909. Annie, the oldest of their children, died at Beaver Dam at the age of thirty-six, wife of C. P. Austin, who is cashier of the Beaver Dam Deposit Bank. Dr. John O. McKenney, second child, was born at Rochester, November 23, 1879. Ivan, the third child, was drowned in Green River at the age of eighteen. W. C. McKenney has charge of the store and railroad interests of the Madeira Mamore Railroad Company in Bolivia, South America. Dr. John O. McKenney was about four years old when his parents moved to Beaver Dam, where he acquired a public-school education. He finished his high school course in 1896 and had a rather extended business experience before he qualified as a physician. For four years he was the druggist and pharmacist for the Central Coal & Iron Company at McHenry. In 1901 he entered the University of Louisville Medical School, graduating in 1905. He is a member of the Phi Chi college fraternity. Doctor McKenney later took post graduate work in the Chicago Policlinic in 1907 and again in 1914. He took up the active work of his profession at Beaver Dam in 1905, and his work here has been attended by a high degree of success both from the financial and professional standpoint. Doctor McKenney is president of the Beaver Dam Drug Company, the leading drug store in Ohio County. He is a member of the Ohio County, State and American Medical associations and the Southern Medical Association. He was prominent in local war work, both as a contributor and as a worker on various committees, and he also volunteered his professional services and was commissioned a first lieutenant in the Medical Reserve Corps. His duties as local surgeon for the Beaver Dam Coal Company, however, were regarded as an essential patriotic duty, and he was not called for other service. For several years Doctor McKenney owned some farming interests, but disposed of that property in December, 1920. He is a democrat and in Masonry has membership in Beaver Dam Lodge No. 420, F. and A. AL, Beaver Dam Chapter, R. A. M, Owensboro Commandery No. 15, K. T., and Rizpah Temple of the Mystic Shrine at Madisonville. In 1907 at Beaver Dam be married Miss Elizabeth Sandefur, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Sandefur, residents of Hartford, Kentucky, where her father is an influential and successful attorney. Doctor and Mrs. McKenney have two daughters: Virginia, born in 1908, and Rachel Hays, born in 1911.
REUBEN ANDERSON MILLER. For a quarter of a century at Owensboro the late Reuben Anderson Miller gave all the rich and varied resources of his intellect and character to the practice of the law, a profession in which he achieved front rank not only in his home locality but in the state. He was born in Ohio County, Kentucky, November 6, 1857, son of Reuben Anderson and Martha (Ford) Miller, both natives of Kentucky. His father was born in Shelby County. The youngest of their ten children, Reuben Anderson Miller grew up on a farm and in pursuit of an education contended with some of the difficulties in the way of an ambitious youth following the period of the Civil war. He attended country schools, graduated from Ford's Seminary at Hartford, Kentucky, and for several years was a successful school teacher, accepting that work not only as an opportunity for service but also as a means of self advancement. He early determined to become a lawyer, and for that profession was well fitted by intellectual equipment and natural endowment. While teaching he read Blackstone, and by close study achieved a lasting knowledge of the fundamentals of law. Before his twenty-first birthday he was admitted to the bar at Hawesville, and there began his brilliant career as a lawyer. It is significant of his untiring devotion to his profession that the only office for which he was a candidate was county attorney of Hancock County, a post to which he was elected. In 1889 he was appointed, the first under a new law of the state, state inspector and examiner of the eleemosynary institutions and penitentiaries. This office he held for two years, residing in Frankfort in the meantime. He then resigned to resume private practice, and located at Owensboro, where he gained his greatest reputation as a lawyer and where he lived and practiced for a quarter of a century. The last ten years were largely devoted to corporation law. While he had, as above noted, no aspirations for public office, he was a stanch democrat, and wielded much influence in his section of the state. A man of great intellect, of commanding personal appearance, he possessed a rich, musical voice and had a native eloquence that, combined with his learning, made him a formidable opponent at the bar, and as a trial lawyer he was eminently successful. His contemporaries regarded him at the very height of his power, and for that reason his death, on April 17, 1915, was regarded as a distinct and irretrievable loss to the profession and the good citizenship of the slate. November 30, 1881, he married Miss Margaret Morehead, a Kentucky lady of education, refinement and high social connection. Her father, Col. J. S. Morehead, was in the Confederate army, while her grandfather, James T. Morehead, served as governor of Kentucky and as United States senator. She was a foster daughter of Gen. S. B. Buckner. Mrs. Miller died in 1909, having survived two children, and leaving four children. A brief record of the children that reached maturity is as follows: Eugene Buckner Miller, is a prosperous farmer of Daviess County; Lucile A., who died in 1918, was the wife of Frank C. Malin, a lawyer of Ashland; Reuben A., Jr., is general agent for the Erie Railroad, at Dallas, Texas. Wilbur Kingsbury Miller, the youngest child, followed in the footsteps of his father and is a prominent Owensboro attorney. He graduated in the academic course from the University of Michigan, in 1915, and in law in 1917. He had been admitted to the Owensboro bar in 1916, and is securely established in his profession. In 1917 he married Miss Marie Louise Hager, of Ashland. During the World war Wilbur K. Miller served six months in the Field Artillery Training School at Camp Taylor, Louisville, and was honorably discharged after the armistice. He is a member of the American Legion.
RODNEY C. REID is one of the younger men with large responsibilities in the business affairs of Ohio County, was formerly a merchant and banker, and is now vice president and assistant manager of the Rockport Coal Company, one of the largest producing companies in Western Kentucky. The Reids are Scotch-Irish and the family are of old Virginia stock. Mr. Reid's grandfather was a native of Virginia, and became a pioneer in Ohio County, Kentucky, where he lived out his life. His son, Mosby James Reid, was born in Ohio County in 1844 and gave his time and attention to farming until he came to Rockport about 1875 and thereafter conducted a flourishing general merchandise business until he retired in 1916. He died at Rockport in March, 1918. He was a democrat in his political affiliation and a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. Mosby J. Reid married Nettie Miller, who was born near Hartford, Kentucky, in 1862, and is still living at Rockport. She is the mother of six children: Mabel, wife of L. D. Smith, a locomotive engineer living at Hodgenville, Kentucky; W. G. Reid, a locomotive engineer with headquarters at Central City; Cora, of Rockport; M. B. Reid, a machine runner for the Rockport Coal Company; Rodney C.; and Margaret, wife of P. O. McKinney, a coal inspector for the Ford Collieries Company, living at Oakmont, Pennsylvania. Rodney C. Reid was born at Rockport, January 31, 1888, and up to the age of twenty attended the grammar and high schools in his native town and also received some valuable training in his father's business. From 1909 to 1912 he was assistant buyer in the cutlery department of the Belknap Hardware Company of Louisville. From 1912 to 1914 he was associated with his brother, W. G. Reid in the mercantile business at Rockport and from 1914 to 1917 was assistant cashier of the Rockport Deposit Bank. Since then he has been actively identified with the Rockport Coal Company, serving as secretary and treasurer until April, 1920, when he was made vice president and assistant general manager. The company's offices are at Central City. The company's mine No. 1 which has a capacity of 800 tons of coal production per day is at the north edge of Rockport, and its 150 employees are under the direct supervision of Mr. Reid. The company's mine No. 2 at Centertown, when fully developed, will have a capacity of 2,000 tons per day, which will make it one of the largest producers in Kentucky. Mr. Reid has acquired considerable real estate at Rockport, but he and his family live with his mother on Main Street. He was a leader in local war activities in Ohio county, exerting himself to the extent of his ability in the purchase of Government securities and assisting in building up patriotic sentiment wherever his influence reached. Mr. Reid is secretary and treasurer of the Rockport graded school board and for two years was clerk of the town board. He is a democrat, a trustee of the Presbyterian Church, and junior deacon of Rockport Lodge No. 312, F. and A. M. In November, 1918, at Louisville Mr. Reid married Miss Elizabeth Kevil, daughter of A. B. and Bessie (Jackson) Kevil, residents of Rockport, where her father lived a retired merchant. Mrs. Reid, who is a graduate of Logan College at Russellville, is the mother of one daughter, Martha, born December 14, 1919.
GEORGE ROWE SMITH, who in a few years has gained a creditable position in the Lexington bar, started his career as a coal miner, following that occupation while paying his way through college and university. He was born at Central City, Muhlenberg County, Kentucky, January 16, 1890, a son of George and Martha E. (Rowe) Smith, residents of Central City. His father was born at Edinburgh, Scotland, was educated in Edinburgh College, learned the art of sculpture, and was twenty-two years of age when he came to the United States. His home has been at Central City, Kentucky, since 1885, and he is still engaged as a farmer and merchant. He is an elder in the Presbyterian Church and in politics a republican. Martha E. Rowe was born in Ohio County, Kentucky. She is the mother of six children: Helen D., wife of John Neil; Mabel, wife of Victor Lawton; Henry, who died in infancy; George R.; Emma, wife of A. B. Christian; and Martha M., wife of A. B. Hotchkiss. George R. Smith during his boyhood at Central City attended public schools. His father was not a man of wealth and he could not command the funds to take him regularly through college. At the age of fifteen he went to work as a coal miner, and continued at intervals in that work until he was past twenty. While in the mines he utilized all his spare time in study, and his example was not only profitable to himself but inspired an ambition for learning in some of his fellow workmen as well. As a coal miner he paid his way through the University of Kentucky, maintaining a high standing in his classes and taking a part in athletic affairs as well. He graduated in 1915 with the LL. B. degree, and since then has been in active practice at Lexington. He is a member of the law firm Smith & Reynolds, with offices in the Trust Building. Mr. Smith is a member of the Lexington Bar Association and the Kentucky Bar Association, is a democrat, and is affiliated with Central City Lodge No. 673. F. & A. M., and the Knights of Pythias. November 27, 1915, he married Ella M. Clark, a native of Rockcastle County, Kentucky, oldest of the six children, five of whom are still living, of Granville W. and Maggie (Ballard) Clark. Her father is a Fayette County farmer, a member of the Christian Church and in politics a republican.
JAMES HENRY THORPE, M. D. It is not always easy to discover and define the hidden forces that move a life of ceaseless activity and large professional success; little more can be done than to note their manifestation in the career of the individual under consideration. James Henry Thorpe has long held distinctive prestige in a calling which requires for its basis sound mentality and rigid professional training and thorough mastery of technical knowledge, with the skill to apply the same, without which one cannot hope lo rise above the mediocre in administering to human ills. James Henry Thorpe, of Owensboro, one of the most eminent members of the medical profession in Northwestern Kentucky, was born on his father's farm near Pleasant Ridge, Daviess County, on the 5th day of October. 1875, and is the eldest of two children who blessed the union of Terry and Elizabeth Ann (Bennett) Thorpe, the other child being a brother,
Terry. The father also was a native of Daviess County, the son of Terry and Polly E. (Howard) Thorpe. The Thorpes were among the pioneer settlers of Daviess County, the first member of the family lo settle here having been Mr. Thorpe's great-grandfather, whose given name was John, and who, in company with a Negro slave named Squire, walked all the way from their former home in South Carolina to Kentucky, hunting as they came. Elizabeth Ann Bennett was born in Ohio County, Kentucky, and was a daughter of Joseph and Ann Elizabeth (Huges) Bennett. James H. Thorpe was reared on the paternal homestead, where during the summer months he aided his father in the farm work, while during the winters he attended the public schools of Pleasant Ridge. When eighteen years of age he began teaching school, and during the following three years he alternately taught and attended school. Having determined to devote his life to the practice of medicine, in 1896 he matriculated in Barnes Medical College at St. Louis, Missouri, where he was graduated in April, 1899, with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. Immediately thereat thereafter Doctor Thorpe located at Pleasant Ridge and practiced his profession for about two years, when he moved to Utica, Daviess County for four years and then to Beech Grove, McLean County. In 1913 Doctor Thorpe, desirous of a larger field for practice, moved to Owensboro, where he has since remained and where he has built up a large and representative patronage, covering a wide radius of surrounding country. Since locating at Owensboro he has limited his practice to diseases of the ear, eye, nose and throat, in which he has gained a widespread reputation because of the splendid success which has crowned his efforts. Doctor Thorpe did post-graduate work in 1909 at the Post-Graduate Hospital, Chicago, and also at St. Louis in 1912, while in 1913 he made special preparation for his present work in the Ear, Eye, Nose and Throat Hospital, Chicago. The doctor is a member of the Owensboro City Medical Society, the Daviess County Medical Society, the Kentucky State Medical Society and the American Medical Association. In 1912, while residing at Beech Grove, he was elected president of the McLean County Medical Society. He is a member of the staff of the Owensboro City Hospital, instructor in ophthalmology, otology, rhinology and laryngology in the Nurses Training' School, ophthalmologist for the Welfare League, consulting surgeon to Mary Kendall Home, and attending specialist in the United States Public Health Service. In September, 1899, Doctor Thorpe was married to Georgia Boston, of Beech Grove, and they have a daughter, Llma Anitra, who is now a student in the University of Kentucky. Doctor Thorpe is a Baptist and Airs. Thorpe is a member of the Christian Church. Fraternally he is a member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. In his chosen field of endeavor Doctor Thorpe has achieved more than ordinary success, and his eminent standing among the leading medical men of his section of the state is duly recognized and appreciated. In addition to his creditable professional career he has proved an honorable member of the body politic, rising in the confidence and esteem of the public, and in every relation of life he has upheld the dignity of true manhood.
History of Kentucky, Vol. 5
By: William Elsey Connelley and E. M. Coulter
Published 1922 by The American Historical Society
REGINALD V. BENNETT, principal of the Lindsay-Wilson Training School at Columbia, and a clergyman of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, is one of the scholarly men and earnest prelates of Kentucky, who both by precept and example, is exerting a strong influence for good on his generation. He was born at Ceralvo, Ohio County, Kentucky, March 9, 1885, a son of Sam P. Bennett, and grandson of Timothy Bennett, who was born in Virginia in 1827, and died at Centertown, Ohio County, Kentucky, in 1908. Coming to Kentucky in young manhood, he settled in Ohio County, developed a farm, was married to Miss Martha Tichenor, a native of the county, and both rounded out their useful and honorable lives upon their farm. The Bennetts came to the American Colonies from Scotland and settled in Virginia. Sam P. Bennett was born near Rockport, Ohio County, Kentucky, and has spent his life in Ohio County with the exception of the six years he lived at Louisville, Kentucky. He has been an extensive farmer, and is still engaged in that calling, living on his fine farm at Narrows, Kentucky. While he was at Louisville he was in the employ of the Illinois Central Railroad Company, but found that he preferred an agricultural life and so returned to Ohio County. While he has always voted the democratic ticket, he has not been active in politics. The Missionary Baptist Church holds his membership and he has always been a strong supporter of it. Fie is equally zealous as a Mason. His wife was Miss Naomi Shultz before her marriage. She was born near Hartford, Kentucky, in 1861, and died at Narrows, March 25, 1907. Their children were as follows: Clarence S., who is an electrical engineer of Portland, Oregon, is with the General Electric Company; Reginald V., who was second in order of birth; Joseph B., who is a druggist of Cairo, Illinois; Arthur R., who is chief engineer of the United States Shipping Board of New York City, is a veteran of the World war, in which he served as an engineer on transports and crossed the ocean fourteen times; Carl W., who is professor of agriculture at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, is also a veteran of the World war, in which he served as a member of the Coast Artillery; and Roswell, who is now a student at the Kentucky State University at Lexington. During the World war he enlisted in the Aviation Corps, and after being trained was sent overseas to England, which he had just reached when the armistice was signed, so that he was not at the front. Mr. Bennett attended the rural schools of Ohio County and Vanderbilt Training School at Elkton, Kentucky, from which he was graduated in 1906. He then entered the Vanderbilt University at Nashville, Tennessee, and was graduated therefrom in 1912 with the degree of Bachelor of Arts and as a member of the Phi Beta Kappa Greek letter college fraternity, which is an honorary fraternity. In the meanwhile Mr. Bennett had begun teaching school, and was so engaged in Ohio County during 1904 and 1905. During 1906 and 1907 he was professor in the Vanderbilt Training School, and during 1908 and 1909 he taught in the Wilson Training School of Fayetteville, Tennessee. For the subsequent two years he was principal of the Franklin County High School in Tennessee. In 1912 Mr. Bennett joined the Louisville Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and was sent to Corydon, Kentucky, as pastor of the church of that denomination in that city, and remained there until 1916, when he was transferred to Beechmont Church, Louisville, and remained there until 1918. In the latter year he was elected principal of the Lindsay-Wilson Training School at Columbia, and entered at once upon the discharge of his duties. The school was established in 1903 and belongs to the Louisville Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. The buildings are all modern brick structures and are known as the Administration Building, the Girls' Building and the Boys' Building. These buildings are in ten-acre grounds, and are located at the eastern edge of Columbia. Mr. Bennett has six teachers and 200 pupils under his supervision. A man of strong convictions, he prefers to vote independently of party ties. A Mason, he maintains membership with Columbia Lodge No. 96, F. and A. M. During the late war he took an active part in the local war work, assisting in all of the drives for the different purposes, bought bonds and stamps to the limit of his means, and contributed very generously to all war organizations. On June 20, 1912, Mr. Bennett was married at Decherd, Tennessee, to Miss Augusta M. Carpenter, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Carpenter, residents of Decherd, Tennessee, Mr. Carpenter being a locomotive engineer for the Nashville, Chattanooga & Saint Louis Railroad. Mrs. Bennett attended the normal school at Winchester, Tennessee. Mr. and Mrs. Bennett have four children, namely: Louise, who was born June 19, 1913, is a student of the Lindsay-Wilson Training School; Jessica, who was born December 15, 1915; Reginald Victor, who was born December 12, 1917; and Joel Samuel, who was born in 1920. Since Mr. Bennett has assumed charge of the Lindsay-Wilson Training School this institution has been infused with new life, and the progress has been rapid and commendable. Pupils from this school have a high rating, and Doctor Bennett is constantly introducing improvements in methods, for he is a very progressive man and is never content to rest upon laurels already won, but is seeking new ones through continued study and effort. His interests are centered in his work, although he takes his civic responsibilities seriously and strives to lend his influence to all moral reforms and uplift movements. Personally he has a large following, and is recognized as one of the striking figures in the educational and religious life of his part of the state.
HERMAN T. CARTER, M. D. During the late war many of the members of the medical profession proved their sincerity, as well as their patriotism, when, living up to the letter of the oath of Hippocrates, they entered the medical department of the United States service. It made no difference to these devoted men that some of them were beyond the limit set by the draft. They knew that the soldiers would need their services more than any other citizens of their county, and, therefore, although many of them had to make heavy sacrifices to do so, they cheerfully offered their services to their Government and worked with unflagging energy both in this and foreign countries to minister to the sick and wounded, and also rendered an equally important service in investigation work carried on at that time. One of these veterans of the mightiest conflict the world has ever known is Dr. Herman T. Carter, physician and surgeon of Gilbertsville and one of the efficient members of the Marshall County medical fraternity. Doctor Carter was born at Spring Lick, Grayson County, Kentucky, September 13, 1877, a son of John S. Carter, and grandson of Alfred T. Carter. The birth of Alfred T. Carter occurred August 6, 1813, in Ohio County, Kentucky, and it was his father who brought the family into Kentucky, and was one of the pioneer farmers of Ohio County. Alfred T. Carter died in his native county November 10, 1842, having devoted all of his efforts to farming interests. He participated in the development of his locality during his period, and was recognized as a man of sterling worth and reliability. John S. Carter was born in Davis County, Kentucky, July 2, 1836, and his death took place at Whitesville, Kentucky, June 26, 1919. Like his father and grandfather, he had the love of the soil in his blood, and became one of the most successful and extensive farmers of Davis County, where he continued to reside until January 1, 1870, when he moved to Spring Lick, Grayson County, and there, too, he was very active in agricultural matters, but in 1905 went back to Davis County, and lived in retirement at Whitesville until claimed by death. His final home was within three miles of the place on which he was born and reared. A Jeffersonian democrat, he was stanch in his support of party principles, and served very ably as city judge of Whitesville, which office he was holding at the time of his demise. For sixty-four years he was a member of the Missionary Baptist Church, which he served as a deacon for half a century, and lived up to his conception of its creed. He was a man who took his Christianity into his everyday life, and endeavored to act according to his religion in whatever he undertook. He was a man of unflinching honesty, and while he asked much of others he never demanded one-half as much from them as he exacted from himself. For many years he maintained membership in the Odd Fellows, and was much honored in the local lodge. The first marriage of John S. Carter was solemnized with Miss Millie B. Harrison, October 7, 1858. She was born in Davis County, Kentucky, April 15, 1840, and died in that county September 5, 1866. They had four children, three who died in infancy, and Nancy E., who first married Robert R. Proctor, a farmer, who died at Spring Lick, Kentucky, and she then married John H. Heath, a blacksmith, who is also deceased. On August 1, 1867, John S. Carter was married to Miss Delia D. Chapman, who was born in Ohio County, Kentucky, April 23, 1845. She survives her husband and is now living with Doctor Carter. They became the parents of the following children: Jesse T., who was born November 11, 1868, died July 21, 1870; Susan G., who was born in Ohio County, Kentucky, November 11, 1868, died there February 16, 1869; James, who was born September 4, 1870, in Ohio County, resides at Whitesville, Kentucky, where he is a practicing physician and surgeon, being a graduate of the Memphis Hospital Medical College at Memphis, Tennessee, which conferred upon him his degree of Doctor of Medicine; Ira, who was born in Ohio County, December 27, 1873, died in that county September 25, 1874; Dr. Herman T., who was the fifth in order of birth ; Flora D., who was born in Grayson County, Kentucky, October 1, 1879, married Claude C. Morrison, a traveling salesman, and they reside at Elizabethtown, Kentucky; and Maggie J., who was born in Grayson County October 16, 1883, married Ben J. McKinney, a traveling salesman, and they reside at Eldorado, Illinois. Doctor Carter was accorded the educational advantages offered by the rural schools of Grayson County and the Spring Lick High School, but after a term at the latter he left and entered the Hospital College of Medicine at Louisville, Kentucky, and was a student of that institution for three years. He completed his medical course at the Memphis Hospital Medical College at Memphis, Tennessee, and after a year there was graduated, April 29, 1903, with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. On May 4 of that same year he entered upon the practice of his profession at Gilbertsville, where he has since maintained a general medical and surgical practice, with the exception of six months when he was at Mound Valley, Kansas, during 1909-10. In his political faith Doctor Carter is a democrat, having been brought up in the doctrines so heartily espoused by his father, and he is also following that a member of the Missionary Baptist Church of Gilbertsville. A Mason, Doctor Carter belongs to Gilbertsville Lodge No. 835, A. F. and A. AL, of which he was worshipful master in 1917. He also belongs to Gilbertsville Lodge No. 345, I. O. O. F., Rosewood Camp No. 116, W. 0. W.; and Robinson Crusoe Camp No. 3516, M. W. A., of Gilbertsville. Professionally he is a member of the Marshall County Medical Society, the Kentucky State Medical Society, the American Medical Association and the Southwest Kentucky Medical Association. For several years he has been on the Gilbertsville Board of Education, and is now its treasurer. He owns his office building and a modern residence on Brien Street. On November 4, 1903, Doctor Carter was married at Gilbertsville to Miss Beulah E. Covington, a daughter of Dan D. and Nancy E. (Ellis) Covington, both of whom are now deceased. Mr. Covington was a pioneer merchant at Gilbertsville. By his first marriage Doctor Carter had two children: Claudine, who was born September 28, 1905; and Lionel C, who was born November 23, 1908. 611 April 14, 1912, Doctor Carter was married at Gilbertsville to Miss Eureka Beasley, a daughter of J. B. and Lucy (Stringer) Beasley. Mr. Beasley served in the Union army during the war between the North and the South, and his health was so injured by his four years of service that he received a pension from the Government. He is now deceased, but his widow survives and lives with Doctor and Mrs. Carter. One child was born of this marriage, Delia E., on March 13, 1914. On January 22, 1918, Doctor Carter entered the medical department of the United States service and was commissioned a first lieutenant. He was sent to Fort Riley, Kansas, and was honorably discharged March 18, 1919. Doctor Carter has a real capacity for his calling, and is a man who enjoys his work. He and his wife have many friends whom they like to have about them, and are model host and hostess. Both as a physician and a man Doctor Carter is accessible and sympathetic to those who seek his help, and he is receiving an honorable reward for the services he has rendered in both peace and war. He is a nobly gifted man, sincere and unselfish, patriotic and courageous, and is proud of the fact that he was given an opportunity to participate in the late War and of the wonderful response made by his profession to the country's call.
CHILTON WALLACE ELLIOTT. The younger business element of the thriving little city of Rochester, Kentucky, has a worthy representative in Chilton Wallace Elliott, who within a short space of time has established himself thoroughly in public confidence. A product of the agricultural districts, in his former environment he came into contact with matters that gave him a knowledge of connections affecting the milling business, and during his connection with the Rochester Ice and Milling Company he has used this information to good effect in his position as secretary and manager. Mr. Elliott was born July 12, 1892, on a farm in Ohio County, Kentucky, a son of Luther and Mary (Brown) Elliott, and a member of a family which has been well and favorably known in Ohio County for several generations, his grandfather having been a lifelong farmer in that county, although dying at Hopkinsville. Luther Elliott was born in Ohio County in 1864, and throughout a long and uniformly successful career has followed the pursuits of farming and raising stock. At this time he is the owner of an extensive property, well improved and highly cultivated, ships many cattle and hogs annually, and is accounted one of the substantial agriculturists of his community, as well as a good and dependable citizen. In politics he is a democrat, and his religious connection is with the Baptist Church, of which he is an active and generous supporter. Mr. Elliott married Mary Brown, who was born in 1866, in Arkansas, but reared in Ohio County, and five children were born to them: Otie, who died young; Hallie, the wife of Audrey Taylor, a merchant of Ohio County; Charles, a coal miner of Muhlenberg County; Nola, who died at the age of eight years; and Chilton Wallace. The education of Chilton W. Elliott was gained in the rural schools of Ohio County, and until he was twenty-one years of age he was associated with his father in the cultivation of the home farm. At that time he went to Butler County, where he commenced farming on his own account, and this enterprise engaged his attention until 1918, when he came to Rochester and became manager and secretary of the Rochester Ice and Milling Company, a position which he has held to the present time. His associates in this venture are W. M. Brown, president, and Carl Willis, treasurer. The flour mill, an up-to-date structure, is situated just off Main Street, and its capacity is fifty barrels per day, while the ice manufacturing plant has a daily capacity of five tons. In the performance of his duties with this concern Mr. Elliott has shown a thorough understanding of the business, good judgment, foresight and acumen, and has so-deported himself in his various transactions as to gain the confidence of his associates and the good will and respect of those with whom he has come into contact in a business way. Mr. Elliott is a democrat and is rendering Rochester valuable services in the capacity of member of the Board of Town Trustees. His religious faith is that of the Christian Church. He resides in his own home on Russellville Street, one of the comfortable residences of Rochester, in which town he has formed and held many friendships. Like other loyal and public-spirited citizens, during the World war he gave freely of his time and means in supporting the various movements inaugurated for the support and relief of America's fighting forces, and all worthy enterprises in times of peace have also met with his approval and cooperation. Mr. Elliott married in 1912, in Ohio County, Kentucky, Miss Nannie Tanner, daughter of Will and Novella (Brown) Tanner, farming people of this county who reside at Rochester. One child has come to Mr. and Mrs. Elliott: Barbara, born April 11, 1913.
JOHN FRANKLIN HOOVER. Some of the most representative business men of this part of Kentucky are located at Dawson Springs, finding in this city excellent opportunities for the development of their faculties and securing a fair share of prosperity. One of them is John Franklin Hoover, manager of the City Water Company and Ice Plant, who is recognized as one of the experts in his line and a citizen of marked public spirit. He was born at Livermore, McLean County, Kentucky, July 28, 1872, a son of George Burdett Hoover, and a grandson of Richard Hoover, who was born in Virginia and died in Ohio County, Kentucky, in 1883. He was a farmer by occupation and the first of his family to come to Ohio County. George Burdett Hoover was born in Ohio County, Kentucky, in 1839, and died at Livermore, Kentucky, in 1881. Reared and educated in Ohio County, he became a farmer of that region, but later moved to Livermore and embarked in a mercantile business, which occupied him until his death. Both in his native county and at Livermore he supported the candidates of the democratic party, and be was equally earnest in his connection with the Methodist Episcopal Church of both places, having early joined that organization. He married Susan Simmons who was born in Ohio County, Kentucky, in 1843, and died at Dawson Springs, Kentucky, in 1912, surviving her husband for many years. Their children were as follows: Vollie T., who died at Louisville, Kentucky, in 1918, was in the employ of the American Tobacco Company; Maude, who married a Mr. Ratterree, a druggist of Louisville; John Franklin, who was the third in order of birth; Belle, who married C. B. Long, a retired merchant of Madisonville, Kentucky; and Georgia, who married Dr. C. A. Niles, a physician and surgeon of Dawson Springs, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work. John Franklin Hoover attended the public schools of Livermore until he was sixteen years old, and then left school and came to Dawson Springs, arriving here in 1888. For a time he did whatever work he found to do, and later became a dealer in real estate, buying realty and holding it until be could sell at a profit. In 1918 he became superintendent of the City Water Company, and still holds that position, his offices being located on Railroad Avenue, at Sycamore Street. The company supplies Dawson Springs with water and man-ufactured ice, and Mr. Hoover superintends the operation of both plants. In addition to his duties as superintendent Mr. Hoover has numerous realty holdings, including his substantial modern residence on Franklin Street, which is supplied with city water, electric lights and other improvements, five dwellings, a business block on South Alain Street, and in partnership with Dr. C A. Niles owns sixty vacant lots in the city. He also has an interest in the Tolo Water Company's building and the company itself, and he is a stockholder and secretary of the City Water Company. A democrat, he served as a member of the City Council for several terms, and is active in his party. Fraternally he belongs to Dawson Lodge No. 628, A. F. and A. M. During the late war Mr. Hoover was one of the most zealous workers in behalf of the cause, and bought bonds and subscribed to the various organizations to the utmost extent of his means, and did every-thing within his power to aid the administration in carrying out its policies. In 1898 Mr. Hoover married Miss Cora Simpson, at Carmi, Illinois. She was a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John M. Simpson. Mr. Simpson is now deceased, but was a farmer of White County, Illinois. His widow, who survives him, is residing at Carmi, White County, Illinois. The first Mrs. Hoover was a college graduate. She died at Carmi, Illinois, in 1903, having borne her husband one son, John Franklin, Jr., who died at the age of ten weeks. In November, 1912, Mr. Hoover married at Jeffersonville, Indiana, Miss Stella Pearl Dishman, born in Marshall County, Kentucky. She was graduated from the public schools of her native county and attended its high school course. Mr. And Mrs. Hoover have one child, Gene, who was born February 11, 1920. Having lived at Dawson Springs for so many years, Mr. Hoover naturally is interested in it, for he has assisted in its development and has been instrumental in bringing about many improvements, both as a private individual and as a public official.
JESSE ROBSON JOHNSON. No class of men are more independent than the agriculturalists, especially in these days when telephones and automobiles connect with centers of industry and culture, farms of outlying districts and afford opportunities for development and social intercourse as well as methods of speedily transacting business. One of the men of Daviess County who has won his place among the successful farmers of Kentucky, is Jesse Robson Johnson. He was born in Ohio County, Kentucky, March 7 1862, a son of Thomas L. and Margaret (Murray) Johnson. Thomas L. Johnson was born in Ohio County, Kentucky, July 25, 1834, a son of James and Lucinda (Taylor) Johnson, who were also natives of Ohio County. On January 19, 1858, Thomas L. Johnson and Margaret Murray were married. She was born near Bloomfield, Nelson County, Kentucky, September 30, 1836, and died at Owensboro, April 11, 1911. Mrs. Johnson was a daughter of James Murray, who lived and died in Nelson County, Kentucky. Both Mr. and Mrs. Johnson were earnest members of the Baptist Church. They had the following children born to them: Alberta, Lizzie, Jesse Robson, James Murray, Allen, Blanche Lou, and Clarence B., the last three deceased, and Nina. After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Johnson settled on a farm in Ohio County, Kentucky, near the Daviess County line. Here Mr. Johnson was engaged in farming, and prospered. Later he became a tobacconist at Whitesville. In time he moved his business to Owensboro, but subsequently went back to Ohio County. Once more he became a resident of Owensboro, and there he died March 9, 1903. Jesse Robson Johnson was reared on his father's farm and with the exception of fifteen years when he was in business at Owensboro, he has been entirely occupied with agricultural matters. About 1905 he bought his present valuable farm, near Owensboro, and here he lives, his eldest sister being with him, neither of them having married. He has a beautiful residence and grounds, and his premises show that the owner takes a pride in having everything in fine order. Since buying this farm he has made many improvements upon it, and it would be difficult to find one in a more highly developed state. Both Mr. and Miss Johnson are held in high esteem in the neighborhood where they have lived for so many years. Their interests are all centered here, and they take pleasure in supporting local movements, and enterprises, and are rightly numbered among the leading people of their township.
ERNEST NEWTON has been one of the chief business men and citizens of Earlington for the past twenty years, and is the present postmaster of that important business and industrial center of Hopkins County. Mr. Newton was born in Ohio County, Kentucky, October 12, 1878, of English ancestry. His family first settled in Virginia, and came to Kentucky in pioneer days. His father, Isaac Newton, was also born in Ohio County in 1836, was reared and married in that locality, and was a graduate in medicine from the University of Louisville. He practiced his profession at Buford in Ohio County until 1884, and in that year removed to Clarksville, Arkansas, where he continued his able work as a physician and surgeon until his death in 1900. He was a Confederate veteran, having served as a surgeon in the Southern army. He was a very devout Christian, an active member of the Missionary Baptist Church, a democrat and a Mason. Doctor Newton married Jennie Hinchee, who was born near Hartford, Ohio County, Kentucky, in 1854, and is now living at Fort Smith, Arkansas. She is the mother of five children: Rosa, wife of C. H. Flynn, in the restaurant business at Fort Smith, Arkansas; Ernest; James H., a locomotive engineer living in Texas; George, a farmer near Fort Smith; and Edwin, salesman in a general store at Fort Smith. Ernest Newton was about six years of age when taken to Northwestern Arkansas, attended the rural schools of Johnson County and graduated in 1896 from the Clarksville High School. The following four years he worked at Webbers Falls in old Indian Territory, first as a ranch hand and later as clerk in a dry goods store. In 1900 Mr. Newton returned to his native state, and for about a year clerked in a store at Owensboro. He has been a resident of Earlington since the spring of 1901. The first eighteen months here he was manager of the grocery store of John M. Victory. He then set up a shop as a general blacksmith and wagon maker, and has developed a very prosperous business in that line, still owning the shop on West Main Street. Mr. Newton was appointed postmaster of Earlington after a competitive examination, and entered upon his official duties for a term of four years February 1, 1919. He also served as city judge of Earlington two years. He is a democrat, is chairman of the Board of Stewards of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, is past chancellor commander of Victoria Lodge No. 84, Knights of Pythias at Earlington, and a member of Eureka Camp No. 25, Woodmen of the World, at Madisonville. Mr. Newton got out and worked and took the lead in securing Earlington's quota in the several campaigns for funds during the war, and spent his own personal resources and credit in the purchase of bonds and war savings stamps. Mr. Newton owns a comfortable home on West Main Street in Earlington. He married in this Hopkins County town in May, 1902, Miss Nannie Stokes, daughter of Judge A. J. and Fannie Stokes. Her mother is still living at Earlington. Her father, the late Judge Stokes, was city judge of Earlington and for many years was head carpenter for the St. Bernard Mining Company and one of the early settlers of Earlington. Mr. and Mrs. Newton have three children: Louise, born in 1003, and Virginia, born in 1906, both students in the Earlington High School; and Earnest, Jr., born in 1914.
WARREN PEYTON, superintendent of schools at Beaver Dam, taught his first country school twenty-five years ago, and except for the intervals while be was acquiring and finishing his own education has had an almost continuous association with educational work and is consequently well known over the state and has filled some very responsible positions in the schools of different town's and communities. Mr. Peyton was born on a farm near Leitchfield in Grayson County November 28, 1877, and is a descendant of Daniel Peyton, a Virginian who fought as an American soldier in the Revolutionary war and for his services received a grant of land from Virginia in Kentucky, which was then part of the Old Dominion. He came West to take advantage of this land grant, and thus became one of the pioneer farmers of Grayson County. His son, Elijah Peyton, grandfather of Warren Peyton, was born in Grayson County in 1832, and spent nearly all his life there as a farmer. Late in life he moved to the vicinity of Rockport in Ohio County, where he died in 1917. He married Mary Jane Pierce, who was born in Ohio County in February, 1833, and is still living, at the age of eighty-seven, near Rockport. Allen Peyton, father of Professor Peyton, is still living on his farm in the western part of Grayson County, and was born on a farm adjoining his present homestead in 1854. His well directed energies over a period of more than forty years brought him substantial success in his home community. He is a republican and a member of the Baptist Church. Allen Peyton married Nancy Heady, who was born near Owensboro in Daviess County in 1854. Warren is the older of their two children. Their daughter, Mary, is the wife of James F. Cooksey, a farmer on a place adjoining her father's farm. Warren Peyton during his youth lived on his father's farm, attended the rural school of Grayson County, and after he began his career as a teacher he graduated in 1900 from Hartford College in Hartford, Kentucky, and in 1904 received his A. B. degree from the National Normal University at Lebanon, Ohio. In 1915 for further work he was granted the degree Bachelor of Science by Peabody College at Nashville. His first school was in a country district of Grayson County, where he taught in 1896. He continued country school work six years, and in 1902 became assistant principal of the grade and high schools at Leitchfield. From 1906 to 1910 Mr. Peyton was county superintendent of schools of Grayson County. From 1911 to 1918 he was principal of the high school at Utica in Daviess County, and then for two years was principal of the high school at Fordsville in Ohio County. He took up his duties as superintendent of schools at Beaver Dam in September, 1920. The schools of Beaver Dam have a scholarship enrollment of 250, and he has a staff of eight teachers under him. In January, 1920, Mr. Peyton began a term of four years as a member of the State Board of Teachers Examiners. For ten years he has been active in the meetings and committee work of the Kentucky Educational Association. He was a leader in Ohio County during the World war, assisting in the sale of Government securities and the raising of funds for various auxiliary purposes through the schools and among all classes of citizens. Mr. Peyton was made a Mason at Leitchfield in 1906, and is now affiliated with Beaver Dam Lodge No. 420, F. and A. M., and is a member of J. O. Davis Chapter No. 32, R. A. M., at Owensboro. January 1, 1907, at Louisville, he married Miss Beatrice McCabe, daughter of Barney and Margaret (Ryan) McCabe. Her mother lives at Leitchfield, where her father, a retired farmer, died. Mrs. Peyton is a graduate of the Bowling Green Business University. They have one child, Tennyson, born January 4, 1908.
COLEMAN TAYLOR. A lawyer splendidly equipped for his work, Coleman Taylor gained prestige throughout Logan County by reason of his natural talent and acquired ability in his profession. He is present county attorney and in a few years has won the appreciation of older members of the bar and a satisfying private practice. Mr. Taylor was born at Greenville in Muhlenberg County, Kentucky, January 13, 1892. This branch of the Taylor family were Colonial settlers in Virginia from Scotland. His grandfather, John Taylor, was born in Culpeper County, Virginia, in 1811, and at an early date settled in Western Kentucky in Daviess County, where at one time he owned twenty-five hundred acres of land, cultivated by numerous slaves. He died in Daviess County in 1897. E. W. Taylor, father of Coleman Taylor, was born in Owens-boro, Kentucky, in 1855, was reared in that city, married at Hartford in Ohio County, lived there for a year as a stock dealer, after which he returned to Owensboro. For two years his home was at Greenville in Muhlenberg County, and while there he did an extensive business as a stock dealer, buying and selling horses for the East St. Louis market. For many years until 1917 he was connected with the wholesale business of P. R. Lancaster at Owensboro, and then retired to his farm two miles south of Russellville, where he lives today. Besides operating his own place of a hundred fifty acres he manages the three hundred acre farm of his son Coleman. He has had a successful business career and is still practically in his prime. E. W. Taylor is a democrat. He married Sallie Al. Daniel, who was born at Carrollton, Kentucky, in 1861. Her father was the late Rev. James S. Daniel who for fifty-two years was an active minister of the Methodist Episcopal Conference of the Louisville District. Coleman Taylor is the oldest of three children. His sister Eva lives with her parents. Samuel died in Logan County in 1917 while a student of law in his brother's office. Coleman Taylor was educated in the public schools of Russellville and attended Bethel College until 1910 He entered the profession only after a period of self supporting work and experience that in itself constituted a splendid education. For a year after leaving college he drove an express wagon in Russellville. He then became a railway express messenger for eight months with a run from Russellville to Owensboro and from Bowling Green to Memphis. Another year he spent in the Russellville office of the Louisville and Nashville Railroad. He then became stenographer and law student in the office of S. R. Crewdson, was admitted to the bar in 1915, and since that date has been steadily gaining favor for his abilities in civil and criminal practice. His offices are in the Edwards Building on Alain Street. Mr. Taylor served as official court reporter for the Seventh Judicial District comprising Logan, Todd, Muhlenberg and Simpson counties in 1915 and 1916. In 1917 he was elected county attorney and began his official term of four years in January, 1918. He is a member of the Kentucky State Bar Association, an attorney for the Southern Deposit Bank at Russellville and the Lewisburg Banking Company at Lewisburg, Kentucky. During the World war he was government appeal agent for the local draft board, and to this and other war work he gave freely of his time and means. Mr. Taylor is a democrat, is treasurer of the Russellville Baptist Church, senior warden of Russellville Lodge No. 17, A. F. and A. M., member of Russellville Chapter No. 8, R. A. M., Owensboro Commandery No. 15, K. T., Louisville Consistory of the Scottish Rite, and Rizpah Temple of the Mystic Shrine a Madisonville. He is also Past Chancellor Commander of Amelia Lodge No. 56, Knights of Pythias. Reference has already been made to the fact that he is a farm owner, his place of three hundred, acres being four miles south of Russellville. He also has one of the most desirable and attractive modern homes in the county seat. February 24, 1916, at Clarksville, Tennessee, Mr. Taylor married Miss Clara B. Manning, daughter of W. J. and Agnes (Dugan) Manning, residents of Clarksville, where her father is a retired road building contractor. Mrs. Taylor is a graduate of a seminary in Georgia and also of the noted finishing school, the Ward-Belmont College of Nashville. Mr. and Mrs. Taylor have one son, Manning, born September 6, 1920.