Friday, June 14, 2013

THE HISTORY OF TORNADOES IN OHIO COUNTY (Part 3 of 3)

Here is a newspaper story about the different storms in Kentucky and surrounding areas on the same day as the Ohio County tornado:

The Hartford Herald – April 2, 1890

RUIN!

A Cyclone, on Its Way From the South-West to the Atlantic Ocean,
Sweeps Down Upon Kentucky With Its Death-Dealing Whirls,

AND DEVASTATES OUR FAIR LAND!

Counties Suffer, Cities Demolished, Towns Blown Down, While Many Citizens Lie Buried Beneath Palling Ruins.

Railroads Injured, Telegraph Wire Down, and for Three Days After , the Great Storm Only Meager Reports Were Obtainable.

THE STORM OVER THE STATE

PATH OF THE STORM

Sergeant Burke gives his views: "At 8 o'clock this morning, 75th meridian time, the tornado was central around Leavenworth, Kansas, moving northeastwardly at a high rate of speed, with rains and a low barometer preceding it. Its course, like that ascertained for all storms of this type, was toward the northeast from its center. As it progressed, it appears to have increased in force, and when it centered over Nebraska this morning, it had become what was predicted for it, the most intense cyclone storm of the present season.”

VELOCITY OF THE WIND

"When the storm reached Louisville the wind had gradually increased from eighteen miles per hour to a velocity of forty-eight miles; the latter being attained twice before the chief force of the tornado made itself felt, and being sustained each time for a period of five minutes. But, at 8:30 o’clock, P. M., or close upon that time, the tornado manifested its full violence, and the wind then had a velocity for about a minute of not less than fifty-three miles per hour, being accompanied by frequent lightning and succeeded by a heavy fall of rain; amounting in all, during the passage of the storm, to thirty-eight hundredths of an inch, and followed by a clearing sky."

AT LOUISVILLE

About 8.30 o'clock P. M. Thursday Louisville was stricken by one of the direst  catastrophes from which any section of the country ever suffered. A mighty tornado, with a velocity and violence incalculable, struck the city at its southwestern limits and tore across the West End in a southeasterly direction, ploughing an appalling path of desolation and death. Square after square of residences and business houses were wrenched from their foundations and scattered like chaff.

The mighty stroke of the tornado fell with a suddenness that scarcely gave time for quickened heart-beats before those hearts were stilled in death. Twice before the wrenching asunder of life and homes and castles of trade, the impulse of the gale fought impatiently to accomplish the work reserved for the whirling tiger of the air, whose avant couriers they were. Twice, for five furious minutes each, they strove, and passed on screeching their balled rage. Then came a lull; but only for a little space, and then the tornado thundered over the doomed territory with terrible lightenings (sic) constantly ablaze.

From Eighteenth and Maple streets, diagonally across the city, crushing dwellings and business blocks like eggshells, toppleing (sic) down church steeples and wrenching warehouses to fragments, the dread visitant passed to the riverfront, leaving to mark the boundaries of ruin, a broad swath of wreckage and dead and mangled humanity impaled and weighted down or burning in the ignited debris. The belt of destruction extended from the west side of Sixth street as far as Ninth on Main, and an equal width across to the point where the city was first touched.

The situation at the Water Works is serious, and the city is threatened with a water famine. The massive standpipe was used to help force water into the reservoirs, was twisted and broken off about thirty-three feet above ground and the top was hurled fifty feet away, where it now lies a mass of brick and mortar.

On Market Street, for three squares north of Ninth street nearly every business and dwelling house was devastated. Houses were hurled into the street, and the debris in many places was piled thirty feet high.

The Union Depot at the foot of Seventh street, owned by Mr. C. P. Huntington, is a total loss. Not only is the valuable structure ruined, but a number of passenger coaches, which were standing under the shed, were mashed into a shapeless mass. The depot owners will have to stand this loss. The iron train shed was new and the C., O. & S. W. officials estimate the entire loss at not less than $75,000.

At Falls City Hall a Lodge of the Knights and Ladies of Honor was in session, two-thirds of the attendants being women, while in the same building was a dancing school of perhaps seventy-five children. The building was dashed like a house of cards, burying in  the debris souls, most of whom were either crushed or suffocated to death.

THE TOBACCO DISTRICT

The Pickett, Farmers and Globe warehouses escaped serious damage. The Old Kentucky, Ninth Street, Falls City, Green River, Enterprise, Louisville, Central, Cresent,  Sawyer, Wallace & Company and Old Rock Warehouses were totally wrecked. Headly & Company were partially wrecked by the falling walls of the Phoenix Storage Warehouse and Sawyer, Wallace & Co’s building.

There are various estimates as to the material loss. A conservative calculation makes it about $2,000,000. Most place it at considerably more than that, and only one at much less than that figure. Dan’s estimate is $2,500,000.

Prompt measures are being taken for the relief of the sufferers. The City Council has appropriated $20,000 for this purpose and $20,000 more has been subscribed by citizens of Louisville.  This sum will be increased in proportion to the requirements, and there is every reason to say to sympathetic outsiders that Louisville alone can and will prove equal to caring for her unfortunates.

Carefully estimated results place the dead at about one hundred, while several hundred are more or less injured.

AT RINEYVILLE

An awful scene met some men who went to a fallen house near Rineyville after the storm. A freight train was wrecked and part of the crew, responding to cries for aid, found the ruins of a large brick house, where nine maimed and bleeding victims were crying piteously for aid, or were hushed forever in the silence of death. The family, an old gentleman aged 80, and his wife, with a married daughter and her family, made up household. Of these, two were killed outright, while all the others were more or less injured. The old man, whose name was Panby, had been ill, and is no doubt dead from exposure and the shock. At last account one little girl had not been found, but was still beneath the debris.

AT CLOVERPORT

The storm lasted for several hours, and was the heaviest that has been witnessed here in many years. The roof of the Southern Methodist church was blown off. The Breckinridge News building was also partly unroofed by the storm, but damage was slight. People all over the town were considerably alarmed during the storm.

AT KNOTTSVILLE, KY

The storm was very heavy near this place. Mat. Adams and wife were both badly hurt their house blown down. All of John Pickerel's buildings, Wm. Bell's dwelling, John Heffner's barn, George Husk's house, Dr. Drury's barn, J. H. McDaniel's barn and Isham Metcalfe's house were blown down  There were eight people, besides a sick woman, at Metcalfe's, but nobody was hurt One of the children, a girl of ten was carried over a hundred yards by the wind.

AT WEST LOUISVIILE, DAVIESS COUNTY

Every business house in the town was literally torn to pieces, and every dwelling except one was either torn down or badly damaged. Several were killed, and many more badly injured. Henry Burch's house was carried fifty yards. Mrs. Burch was bruised up somewhat. Her baby, three weeks old, was found 150 yards from the house, entirely uninjured.  J. L. Blandford had a miraculous escape. His store blew away, leaving him penned up in an incredibly small space. He found his wife sitting on top of a fallen wall and his two-year old child under the wreck of the house, surrounded by fallen timbers. Both were entirely unhurt. The total estimated loss on business houses and dwellings amounts to more than $21,000.

HOBARDS, KY

The L. & N. freight, No. 57, J. H. Burch, of Owensboro, conductor, was wrecked between this place and Sebree. The engineer, Peter Burns, and head brakeman, W. W. Powell, were killed, and George Bridges, second brakeman, very badly hurt.

The cyclone blew a number of trees on the track, and the train ran into one of them. The engine was derailed and nine cars were piled on top of it. Burns and Powell were buried at bottom of the wreck.

Conductor Burch and the other train men saved themselves by jumping. The wreck is the worst the Henderson division has had for a long time. Two wrecking trains were at work on it all day.

IN WESTERN KENTUCKY

The swath of tornado which wrought such terrible destruction, is clearly marked through the State. Reports from Paducah, near which place the whirlwind must have entered Kentucky, give details of much damage. The new town of Grand Rivers, on the Cumberland river, was destroyed, and several people were killed. In Lyon county, many houses were razed to the ground. From Crittenden county the same story comes. Heavy storms are reported from nearly all the river counties. In Christian and Trigg, and in the southern part of the State, the life of and property was very heavy.

AT PADUCAH

Thursday's storm according to delayed reports, did considerable damage in Marshall, this State, before sweeping across the Tennessee, and so badly destroying Grand Rivers. In Marshall many houses and barns were destroyed, but, most fortunately, the loss of life was small. A full dozen of farms were swept clean and the loss of buildings alone will reach into thousands. The loss of life at Grand Rivers has been increased to three; a negro being found killed near that place, while the wounded numbered twenty-five. At that place, loss in property was $20,000.

CUMBERLAND RIVER

The cyclone struck the bridge of the N. N. & M. V. road, spinning it around on the piers, and dropping the entire bridge into the river. Bridge a total loss.

CRITTENDEN COUNTY

The track of the storm is a quarter of a mile wide, and it traveled thirty miles across the county parallel to and almost in the same track of a storm that occurred in 1852. At this hour four deaths are reported, and as many more possibly wounded seriously. The wounded will reach fifty-five or more. Residences were totally destroyed and a number of horses and cattle killed.

WEBSTER COUNTY

At Sturges hail one inch in diameter fell, and the wind unroofed several barns. At Sullivan, the wind was worse, destroying many outbuildings and wounding ten or twelve men and women. For several miles in Webster, between Clayville and Dixon, it swept everything away. Bed furniture and clothing have been found all along the road from Morganfield to Dixon. The killed and wounded at Webster will number not less than fifty.

AT BREMEN

The little town of Bremen, McLean county, was almost totally demolished, only two houses being left standing. A number of horses and cattle were killed, but no destruction of human life is reported, though several persons were badly wounded. The new brick school building, recently erected at a cost of $4,000, was wrecked.

NEAR SOUTH CARROLLTON

A house near South Carrollton, occupied by a Mrs. Davis, was picked up and blown 500 yards, literally tearing it to pieces and killing Mrs. Davis almost instantly. In the same neighborhood there were eight houses within two miles leveled to the ground.

OVERFLOWED DISTRICTS

Much damage reported from the districts overflowed by Green River. Many buildings that were surrounded by water were blown down, many of the wrecks being entirely submerged. Many buildings containing hay and corn that had been placed out of reach of the water were blown down, and their contents scattered in the water and destroyed.

CHRISTIAN COUNTY

The storm was very heavy here, doing much damage in different parts of the county. Caledonia and Bellview sustaining great damage.

FOSTERVILLE, TENN

This town, a small station of the Nashville and Chattanooga railroad was blown away. No one killed.

GALLATIN, TENN


This beautiful little city suffered heavy losses in property and life. Large buildings were blown down to the lowest foundation, and their occupants killed or crippled. All over Sumner county, the storm was very severe. 

Tuesday, June 11, 2013

THE HISTORY OF TORNADOES IN OHIO COUNTY (Part 2 of 3)

The Hartford Herald – April 2, 1890

DEVASTATION!

A Terrible Tornado Tears Its Terrific Way Through Ohio County,

The Trail of the Whirling Cyclone Sweeps Everything Before It.

Houses Blown Down, Barns Destroyed, Fences Leveled, Timber Felled, and Ruin Follows the Path of the Angry Tyrant of The Air.

Many People Left Houseless and Homeless in a Moment - Miraculous Escapes From Death - Two Children Killed Outright, Others Fatally Injured

THE TALE OF DESTRUCTION AND WOE

Never in the history of Ohio county has such destruction of life and property occurred as was witnessed last Thursday night. As early as 5 o'clock in the afternoon the atmosphere became oppressive, foreboding a terrible visitation from the elements. Just as darkness was beginning to come over the earth, a long line of black and angry clouds was seen looming up in the northern and western sky from which the glare of angry lightning flashed its lurid gleam. About 7:30 the first dashes of the storm was felt in this vicinity, and soon the heavens were one blaze of light and lightning. Deep rolling thunder shook the earth as though trembling from an earthquake. The winds blew in strong and fitful gusts shaking houses and now and then breaking trees and felling fences. All over the county, such phenomina (sic) were visable (sic). But a narrow strip probably three quarters of a mile wide from one side of the county to the other, was doomed to the destructive effects of a tornado terrible in its power. In the path of this tornado, the sky was black as erebus save when it was lit by the flashing gleams of angry lightning. Terror seized many of the people subjected to its mad winds and dashing rains, while other bravely sought to protect life and properly. From eye witnesses and from messengers sent to the afflicted districts, the Herald obtained the following detailed account:

The tornado crossed Green river about midway between Point Pleasant and Smallhouse, giving a farewell touch to McLean county by tearing down the dwelling of Thomas Bishop, who lived just across the river and in the track of the cyclone. The first house struck in the county, was James Bullocks. Following the line of the tornado through the county, we find almost nothing left standing. Large trees were broken like small weeds, fencing was blown down, or chards totally destroyed, and in many places the very earth was torn up by the fury of the winds. It is wonderful that amid all the loss of property so few lives were lost.

Beginning with the western limit of the county and following the storm, we find this summarized statement of casualties:

James Bullocks - Dwelling, stables and all outbuildings blown down. A child was blown some distance into shallow back-water, was recued.
Jim Ben Brown - Dwelling torn to pieces, barns and other buildings destroyed. Blew one of his boys over two hundred yards from the house. After the fury of the storm had passed the boy got back to the house, being only slightly hurt.
W. L. Brown - House unroofed and badly damaged) outbuildings injured but not destroyed.
Henry Iglehart - House blown down to the floor and left the family unhurt. Outbuildings totally destroyed. Pieces of plank blown over a mile and a half. Mr. lglehart slightly injured.
Sam Bilbro - Fared pretty much the same fate as Henry Iglehart. House and outbuildings  destroyed. Pieces of shingles being blown over two miles.
T. B. Iglehart - House down and outbuildings demolished.
J. P. Tichenor - Tobacco barn, containing a large crop of tobacco hanging on the stick, blown down, and tobacco destroyed. Meat house destroyed, stables blown down.
Wing James - Dwelling unroofed and twisted. Barns, stables and cribs blown down. Wheat scattered all over the place.
Widow Everly - Farm touched on one side. Barn damaged and trees uprooted.
Jacob C. Bennett - Here the tornado crossed the Centertown and Point Pleasant Road. Dwelling unroofed, part of the house moved off its foundation. Mr. Bennett had built a fine, large grain and stock barn a year or so ago, this was blown down. In it were horses, cattle, hay, corn, oats, tobacco. Strange, as in many other such instances, nothing was hurt A new 700 pound wagon standing in the lot was lifted over a high fence and carried 80 yards or more, breaking two wheels and an axle. Stock barn on adjoining farm destroyed. This is one place where the storm was particularly severe. Rails, planks, boards were scattered all over the place.
Wood Stearsman - Dwelling blown down.
George Stearsman - House blown down and burned. Family ran to a neighbor's during the hardest of the storm.
Tom Boyd - House damaged.
W. T. Bennett - Barn and stables destroyed. A fine young mule killed. One horse was covered ten feet under a pile of hay, but was taken out alive and not much hurt.
W. J. Ross - House unroofed, stables injured. Barn full of tobacco a total wreck,
W. H. Williams - Smoke house down. Small dwelling on the place destroyed.
Clayton Stevens - House blown literally into splinters. Bedding and clothing scattered all over the farm. The escape of the family alive was almost miraculous.

On both sides of the tornado's track several suffered from the effects of the wind, having many out-buildings blown down or injured, orchards uprooted and fences leveled to the ground.

Here the tornado crossed the river.

The first house in its path was:
Dock Ward's - House blown down. Family had moved out on account high water.
Joe Condit Barnett - All outbuildings blown down.
Will Delaney - Top story of house blown away, Three large outbuildings blown down.
John Sam Bennett - Outbuildings partially destroyed and orchard destroyed.
Dr. I. Foster - Barn partially destroyed.
No Creek Churches - The M. E. Church was moved from its foundation about eight feet, twisted so as to loosen the upper plates, plastering fell off, rendering the house practically useless. The M. E. Church South was lifted from its foundation and blown into a thousand pieces. The grove of beautiful trees near the churches was totally destroyed. The school house at this place was a total loss.
John Ward – House moved off its foundation. Large stock barn and other buildings destroyed.
James Ward – Chimney blown down. Door of the dwelling blew open, striking Miss Ophelia Ward - knocking her backward. She was not seriously injured.
John F. Wallace - Top story of house, kitchen, dining room and porches blown away. Barns and all outbuildings razed to the ground. Killed one cow and calf. Farming Implements badly damaged. A fine new buggy blown a hundred yards and shivered into kindling wood. The storm was particularly severe at this point. The divisions which were made at the creek, joined at Mr. Wallace’s and left almost nothing standing on his place. That no one was killed is due to the fact all the family was downstairs.
William Edwards - Top story of house and cook room blown away. Large barn containing stock blown down.
Joe Jeff Bennett - Upper story of dwelling gone; outbuildings destroyed. An apple tree standing about 30 feet from the house was torn from the earth and carried over and beyond the house, a distance of 200 yards. Loss comes heavily on this venerable citizen, he having twice lost his house by fire.
Baylis Davis – Outbuildings destroyed.
William Milligan - Stock barn destroyed.
Alexander School House - Was lifted from its foundations and moved about 8 feet.
The Bridge Across No Creek on the Hartford and Owensboro road was blown down to the floor leaving the bridge so as to be passed over.
R. A. Anderson - Tobacco barn blown down. Tobacco bulked, but injured some.
A. C. Ellis - Barn partly unroofed, porch blown away. Hay stacks overturned.
Sam L. Baird - Two large barns down. A hay and feed barn fell on stock-only one cow killed.
James Baird - Upper story of house gone. House badly sacked. Beds and clothing blown a hundred yards or more from the house. During the storm, Mr. and Mrs. Baird ran from home to Mr. S. L. Baird's amid great personal danger.
Tom Webb - Crib and part of stable blown away. Two barns partially unroofed. 80 acres fine timber a total loss.
Fletcher Ward - Tobacco barn and corn crib unroofed.
John W. Stevens - Meat house and crib down. Roof off stable, small outbuildings destroyed.
Widow Wesley Stevens – Two barns, meat house, granary, tobacco barns down. Kitchen unroofed.
Wood Tinsley – House blown down level with the upper floor. Every other building on the place razed to the ground. The escape of the family from death seems miraculous, but not one was hurt, except a little girl, and she seriously. Chickens and geese almost all killed.
G. B. Hocker Farm - Barn blown away.
I. K. Westerfield - Dwelling down. Outbuildings destroyed.
Mrs. Fannie Taylor - House blown down, Mrs. Taylor received a scalp wound from a falling timber. Her little girl lying in bed was covered by falling timbers, doing her serious injury. Two young men living with Mrs. Taylor were slightly bruised.

The tornado here crossed the creek again.

At Mr. F. W. Pirtle's, the wind did considerable damage. In the creek near Mr. Pirtle's, was John Thomas of Hartford in a fishing boat. His description of the storm as it tore across the creek above and around him is thrilling. The waves rolled against his boat, but did not rock John to sleep. After the fury of the storm had passed it was many moments before John could content himself to sleep. He was back in Hartford betimes next morning, but did not know then of the great damage done by the tornado.

From Doc Ward’s to the Iron Mountain

As related by our correspondent who went over the ground:

I will give you an outline of the destruction of the cyclone as I have seen it from John B. Ward's to Mrs. John Taylor's. I hear it crossed the creek about Doc Ward, destroying his house and outbuildings, also the outbuildings on the Widow Stevens' land. John B. Ward's and Wm. Delaney's barns destroyed, and Delaney's dwelling damaged. John S. Bennett's outbuildings injured. M. E. Church, South, completely destroyed. M. E. Church, North, removed from foundation and badly deranged. All of John Wallace's outbuildings a complete wreck, also a part of his dwelling, all of it greatly damaged, and a cow killed and a calf wounded. Wm. Edwards and Joe Jeff Bennett left without a building of any kind and without shelter. Ballis Davis lost two barns. Dick Ward's barns on the Baird farm destroyed, containing a crop of tobacco. Alexander school house removed from foundation and badly damaged. A. C. Ellis' barn unroofed and badly damaged, porch and meat house damaged. S. L. Baird's barns on the Stevens farm completely destroyed, also house on same in which Jas. Baird was living. One cow and some hogs killed. His barns had a quantity of hay, corn and oats in them and his machinery. R. A. Anderson's tobacco barn, containing a part of his crop, destroyed - stables damaged. J. F. T. Ward's tobacco barn unroofed, containing two crops of tobacco, stables and corn crib unroofed. T. E. Webb's tobacco barn unroofed, also stables and corn crib. John Stevens' barn and meat house blown down and stables unroofed. The barn, stables and kitchen on the old Wesley Stevens farm blown down. Barns on the G. B. Hocker farm unroofed. Wood Tinsley's dwelling unroofed and barn blown down. Knox Westerfield’s dwelling and outbuildings blown down. Mrs. John Taylor's dwelling and all outbuildings all blown down, and Mrs. Taylor and child slightly injured. In addition to the above the barn on Wm. Milligan’s farm down, also bridge across No Creek. Add to this the complete destruction of all timber, fencing, orchard, household effects damaged by the rain, the homeless condition of seven families, to say nothing of the frightened condition of the people along this line, and you have a brief history of the worst effects of the cyclone of about three-fourths of a mile in width. A great deal of fencing and some timber were blown down outside of this line.

From the Iron Mountain to Barrett’s Ferry.

Where the tornado passed through the forests in Rough Creek bottoms it looked as though the timber had been flattened by enormous rollers. The first house struck after crossing the creek at the Iron Mountains, was:
Mrs. M. A. Coombs - Dwelling injured. Kitchen and dining room blown down. Stock barn and smaller out building destroyed.
Madison Duke - Outbuildings destroyed.
John Taylor Lowe - House down, part of floor blown away, family unhurt. All outbuildings down.
Pig Wimsatt - One room of dwelling blown down, remainder of house unroofed. Stock barn destroyed. New wagon blown to atoms.
Dave Duke - Outbuildings blown down. '
T. D. Duke - Dwelling unroofed. Stock barn leveled to the ground.
I. N. Duke - Stables blown down.
George Hines – Stable unroofed.
John Russell -. Large double log dwelling blown down.
John Tucker - Dwelling down.
Luke Hunt - House blown down.
Basil Acton - Dwelling unroofed.
Jake Hooberry - Dwelling blown down.

A SCENE OF DEATH

The storm struck the residence of Isaac Gidcomb on the old Collin's farm. The stone chimney was blown against the house. The weight of the chimney caused the house to give away and fell with a crash to the lower floor. Mrs. Gidcomb was buried under the debris, but was saved from the fall of the upper floor by an old fashioned upright loom. John Gidcomb, a son 23 yean old, and Minnie Gidcomb, 16 years old, were both killed outright. Two more of the children, both girls, each a leg broken, while two other children were injured slightly. R. N. Fitzhugh and Kin Blanton, who visiting the family, sustained painful though not serious injuries. Mr. I. Gidcomb was not at home, having gone to Evansville on a raft.

John Tucker - House blown down.
Mrs. Lotta Ambrose - Dwelling down. Two barns destroyed.
Elvin Elmore – House and barn blown down.
E. C. Renfrow – Stock barn down.
Jeff Cole – Barn and orchard destroyed.
Sulphur Springs – Dancing hall and ten-pin alley destroyed by falling timber. Five negroes were in a small house near the springs when the house was overturned by the winds. None of the negroes were hurt.
Pardon Tabor - Fine timber destroyed.
Jim Tom Moore - Stable and crib unroofed,
J. T. Shultz - Fine new barn destroyed. Barn had been finished only two days.
Leonard Bunger - Tobacco barn blown down.  Tobacco hanging in barn greatly injured.
N. P. Boswell - Outbuildings and fine orchard destroyed.
Thomas Barrett - Heavy losses in timber destroyed.

The tornado crossed the creek at Barrett's Ferry

Striking Ed Davidson's farm beyond the Ferry, blowing down large stock barn, and ploughed its destructive course along the lowland snapping giant oaks as though they were mere weeds before the wind.
Pink Fentress - House and outbuildings destroyed.
George Fentress - Dwelling down.

On went the mad winds crossing the creek at almost every bend doing great damage to timber. The Herald’s special reporter could not get reliable information from beyond the creek above this point on account of high waters. It is thought by those who witnessed the storm in this section that the track of cyclone followed along the line of the creek for a considerable distance.

Three miles south-east of Fall’s of Rough Mrs. H. T. Edwards was killed outright and a small child fatally injured. Mrs. Edwards was the widow of H. T. Edwards, who was drowned at Spottsville two weeks ago by a raft overturning.

IT DIVIDES

Just above Sulphur Springs a whirl of tornado branches out toward the East doing much damage.

Sam Christian living two miles North of Horse Branch, lost a fine barn by the wind, while his son's dwelling was blown to the ground.

SHILOH CHURCH, GRAYSON COUNTY

Cul Daniel - House and barn wrecked,
Sim Peyton - Dwelling gone. Meat house blown down and meat scattered through the woods.
William Bean - House blown down and burned. No one was at home at the time, and on coming home Friday morning, found their home in ashes.
John Duncan - House and barn down.
James Burkley - House blown down. Barn unroofed,

NOTES

The large flouring mill at Rosine was unroofed.
Rough creek is steadily falling at the mouth of Caney creek.
The destruction of chickens, ducks and geese was phenomenal.
Several of our citizens visited the ruins of the cyclone yesterday.
The cyclone's path, on an average, was about three-quarters of a mile wide.
The preservation of life and the destruction of so much property, was wonderful.
The wind was heavy all over the county, blowing down much fencing and timber.
People living near the cyclone suffered much damage by having fencing blown down.
Several were fortunate enough to have their property insured against cyclones and storms.
Several of those damaged most by the tornado can not raise a crop unless they have sorne assistance.
The now tobacco barn belonging to John O. Riley, about two miles east of Hartford, was blown down.
Many people who were rendered houseless and homeless were up all night, caring for what little was left them.
The noise of the storm in the distance - the awful surging roar, the crackling, grinding debris - was simply appalling.
The direction of the storm was well marked, being nearly due north-east, at times dividing and then coming together again.
Neighbors who were not damaged are nobly helping those who were, giving the homeless shelter and administering to their wants.
Such destruction of property is particularly hard on the farmer at this season of the year, when he would ordinarily be planting his crop.
All the timber in the path of the cyclone was felled flat to the earth. Persons can stand in the track in some places and see for miles ahead.

Yesterday, Sunday as it was, was a busy day in the storm stricken territory. The people were putting up fencing and repairing broken dwellings.

Saturday, June 8, 2013

THE HISTORY OF TORNADOES IN OHIO COUNTY (Part 1 of 3)

THE HISTORY OF TORNADOES IN OHIO COUNTY

According to US Weather Service records, the worst tornado to hit Ohio County was in 1890.  At that time this F4 storm was commonly called a cyclone. Its’ path is shown in orange on the map below. Note: The color coding shows the strength of the tornado, i. e. F1 as blue; F2 as green; F3 as yellow; and the worst, F4, as orange.


March 27, 1890
Counties:  Ohio, Grayson, Breckinridge, Hardin
F-scale:  F4 (orange on map)
Deaths:  7
Injuries:  40
Path width:  1200 yards
Path length:  60 miles (probably a family of tornadoes)
Time:  8:00pm

Narrative:  Moved east-northeast from seven miles northwest of Hartford.  Many miles of forest were leveled, and small farm communities were wiped out.  Homes were said to have "vanished" near Sulphur Springs (where two people were killed) and near Falls of Rough (where three people were killed).  The last damage was near Rineyville, where two people were killed in one home.

Other tornadoes, as shown on the above map :

February 7, 1904
Counties:  Ohio
F-scale:  F2 (green on map)
Deaths:
Injuries:
Path width:
Path length:  5 miles
Time:  3:45am

Narrative:  Moved east-northeast from Dundee to Narrows.  Thirty homes and six businesses were destroyed at Narrows (virtually the entire village).  Twelve more homes were destroyed at Dundee.

December 4, 1916
Counties:  Ohio
F-scale:  F2 (green on map)
Deaths:  0
Injuries:  0
Path width:   100 yards
Path length:  10 miles
Time:  3:30pm

Narrative:  Moved east-northeast seven miles north of Hartford.  This tornado "bounced like a rubber ball" and destroyed several homes.

May 2, 1954
Counties:  Ohio
F-scale:  F1 (blue on map)
Deaths:
Injuries:
Path width:  25 yards
Path length:
Time:  Noon

Noted discrepancies:  SPC gives a path width of 10 yards, NCDC gives 30 yards, Storm Data says 25 yards.

May 7, 1961
Counties:  Ohio, Grayson (from Hopkins and Muhlenberg)
F-scale:  F3 (yellow on map)
Deaths:
Injuries:
Path width:
Path length:
Time:  9:25am

Grazulis narrative:  Skipped east-northeast from Madisonville to Bremen, Moorman, and on to Beaver Dam.  The Moorman High School gym was unroofed and a small home fell over.

Noted discrepancies:  SPC and NCDC rank this as an F3, Grazulis gives it an F2.  Grazulis does not include Grayson County.  SPC, Storm Data, and NCDC give a time of 9:25am, Grazulis give 8:15am.  SPC and NCDC give a path length of 58 miles, Grazulis give 35 miles (skipping), Storm Data gives 60 miles.  SPC and NCDC give a path width of 880 yards, Storm Data says 1320 yards, Grazulis says 200 yards.  This tornado is very oddly listed at the NCDC website.  NCDC lists Hopkins County at 9:25am, then two entries for Muhlenberg County (one at 9:36am and the other at 9:41am), then two entries for Ohio County (one at 9:48am and the other at 9:56am), then one entry for Grayson County (at 10:17am).  All entries have identical f-scale and path widths values.  Storm Data begins the tornado in McLean County, and thereafter agrees with SPC.  The NCDC end lat/lon of the first Muhlenberg tornado is the same as the NCDC begin lat/lon of the second.  Similarly, the NCDC end lat/lon of the first Ohio tornado is the same as the NCDC begin lat/lon of the second.  All lat/lons are roughly in alignment with each other and with the Grayson County lat/lons.  Will plot a single tornado as close to the given lat/lons as possible.  In the LMK CWFA, only Centertown and Beaver Dam (both Ohio County) are mentioned in the Storm Data narrative.  More research would be nice, especially to determine if this tornado did continue into Grayson County or not.

August 13, 1966
Counties:  Ohio
F-scale:   F2 (green on map)
Deaths:  
Injuries:
Path width:
Path length:
Time:  5:25pm

Noted discrepancies:  SPC/NCDC call this an F2...Grazulis does not list it.

Notes:  Storm Data says this tornado touched down one and a half miles northeast of Hartford and moved northeast for a mile and a half.

November 19, 1970
Counties:  Ohio
F-scale:  F2 (green on map)
Deaths:  0
Injuries:  18
Path width:  600 yards
Path length:  37 miles (skipping)
Time:  10:25pm

Notes:  This tornado likely touched down in eastern Muhlenberg County and traveled roughly northward through western Ohio County, including the Echols, Rockport, and Hartford areas, and into far eastern Daviess County around Whitesburg.  In the Rockport and Echols area the tornado was up to a quarter mile wide.  It destroyed a dozen houses and half a dozen mobile homes, damaged 40 other houses and several barns to some degree, and injured eleven people.  In Hartford two children were hospitalized when their trailer was overturned.  The tornado did its worst in Whitesville in Daviess County, damaging much of the town.

Noted discrepancies:  SPC lists Ohio and Daviess counties...NCDC lists only Ohio County...Grazulis lists Muhlenberg and Ohio counties.  SPC/NCDC lat/lon list this tornado as touching down in Daviess County, and provide no liftoff lat/lon.  Grazulis has the tornado starting in Muhlenberg County east of Greenville and he lifts it at Hartford in Ohio County (nowhere near the SPC/NCDC lat/lon).  SPC and NCDC list no injuries, Grazulis and Storm Data list 18.  SPC gives a path length of 1/10 of a mile (obviously wrong), NCDC gives nothing, and Grazulis gives 20 miles.  SPC gives a path width of 10 yards, NCDC and Grazulis give nothing.  Storm Data mentions tornado-like damage at Whitesville in Daviess County.

April 27, 1971
Counties:  Ohio (from McLean and Hopkins)
F-scale:  F1 (blue on map)
Deaths:
Injuries:
Path width:
Path length:  34 miles
Time:  5:45pm

Noted discrepancies:  Only Hopkins County is listed at NCDC.  SPC gives a path width of 10 yards, NCDC give 30 yards.  SPC and NCDC agree on a path length of 36 miles, suggesting the tornado must have continued beyond Hopkins County.  Storm Data lists a path length of 34 miles.  The SPC/NCDC liftoff lat/lon is in Oho County but makes no sense for a tornado coming from Hopkins and McLean counties, especially without passing through Muhlenberg County.  Interestingly, though, SvrPlot gives a very realistic plot for this tornado.  Storm Data says the tornado touched down near Slaughters in Hopkins County, proceeded to Sacramento in McLean County, and then went on to Prentiss in Ohio County.

Notes:  Will use the Storm Data description.

April 27, 1971
Counties:  Ohio, Butler
F-scale:  F3 (yellow on map)
Deaths:
Injuries:
Path width:
Path length:  11 miles
Time:  6:10pm CST

Notes:  There is considerable disagreement among data sources regarding the end point of this tornado (despite excellent agreement on the touchdown point).  After further research, it has been decided that this tornado touched down west of Cool Springs and north of Wysox in Ohio County.  It proceeded to the east-southeast through Little Bend (near Mining City) and into Butler County.  This project will end the tornado about two miles into Butler County.  Damage was found as far east as the Reedyville and Roundhill areas along the Butler County/Edmonson County line, however these locations are not really in line with the earlier known tornado locations, and also there have been no damage reports found between the end point described above and these two locations.  Damage in Roundhill and Reedyville may have been from straight-line winds or a separate small tornado.  At this tornado's touchdown point in Ohio County a witness said it "swerved" as it approached his house, just grazing the home but destroying the garage and a nearby barn.   Multiple vortices may have been visible.  The tornado was witnessed at Little Bend and was described as being about 17 yards wide while moving at about 40mph (and accompanied by large hail).   In this area a barn was destroyed and roof shingles were found embedded two inches deep into an oak tree.  Will not disagree with the official strength ranking of F3, but it sounds like this tornado was a minimal F3 at best.

Noted discrepancies:  SPC and NCDC rank this as an F3, Grazulis call it an F2.  SPC and NCDC list a path width of 20 yards, Grazulis says 50 yards, Storm Data 14 yards.

April 28, 2002
Counties:  Ohio
F-scale:  F1 (blue on map)
Deaths:
Injuries:
Path width:
Path length:
Time:  2:40am

Noted discrepancies:  SPC lists a path width of 30 yards...NCDC and Storm Data say 100 yards.

Notes:  Storm Data takes this tornado from five miles west of Centertown, on Shrull Lane, to Hartford.


Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Susannah Caroline (Acton) Mitchell

Susannah Caroline (Acton) Mitchell

April 8, 1826 – September 8, 1878

of Charles County, MD and Ohio County, KY

Wife of Joseph Martin “Mart” Mitchell

Susannah Caroline Acton was born in the spring time, April 8, 1826, at Port Tobacco, the first county seat of Charles County, Maryland.  She was the first and oldest of nine children born to her parents, Bartemus Acton and Sarah Ann “Sallie” (Robey).  Susannah’s brother and sister, Mary Jane and Thomas Washington, were also born in Maryland. 

Sometime after the 1830 census was taken in Port Tobacco, when Susannah was about four, her parents migrated from Maryland with their three small children and moved to Ohio County, Kentucky, a distance of about 700 miles.  Upon arrival, they settled on a farm near Hall’s Creek, a branch of Rough Creek, where a deed shows that Bartemus purchased an unspecified number of acres of land on February 26, 1831 from Absalom Albin and his wife, Piety, for $280.00.

On August 24, 1843, when she was seventeen, Susannah married Joseph Martin Mitchell, son of Robert Mitchell and Judith Benson who moved to Ohio County in 1825, formerly of Shelby County, Kentucky.  Joseph Martin Mitchell, called “Mart,” was born March 19, 1822 in Shelby County. 

Over the next twenty years – 1844 to 1864 – Susannah had nine children of which seven grew to maturity.  The Mitchells were hardworking people and expected their children to do likewise.  For Susannah, chores centered on raising her children and keeping them healthy, cooking for her household, sewing and mending, working in the family garden, and tending the farm yard.

It is reported that Mart Mitchell was a farmer and a stone mason, a person who cuts and shapes native stone into various shapes for building chimneys, flues, doorsteps, walkways and fences.  Mart and his son, Joseph shaped the rocks and built one of the abutments to the bridge at Barrett's Ferry on Rough River in 1892.  That bridge was eventually replaced by a concrete bridge, but the stones of the old bridge abutments still remain in place to this day.

Joseph and Susannah lived on Cane Run between Olaton and New Baymus Church of Christ near Barrett's Ferry, about two miles from Dundee (formerly called Hines Mill) and Sulphur Springs.   In the 1860 census the couple was living in the Briggs Mill area of the Caney District of Ohio County, Kentucky. 

Susannah was 52 when she died Sep 8, 1878.  Joseph Martin Mitchell was said to have married twice after her death, first to Mary Hushon Bishop on May 21, 1881, and second to Mattie Wickliffe, Oct 18, 1892, both of whom he outlived.  He died Nov 27, 1904 at age 82.  Joseph and Susannah are said to be buried at McCord Cemetery on Hall’s Creek Road, not far from Rosine.   They had nine children, all born Ohio County.

1)      Mary Elizabeth Mitchell (my ancestor) – Born June 1, 1844; married  1st James William Cox on Aug 4, 1860 and they had 14 children – all born in Ohio County; she died Feb 7, 1903, in Obion County, TN.  He died Sep 30, 1931, Ohio County.

2)      Ellen Boatman Mitchell – Born Dec 15, 1845; married 1st George W. Ezell on Oct 17, 1860; she died May 29, 1890, Ohio County. 

3)      Anthony T. Mitchell – Born Mar 11, 1847; died July 19, 1847, Ohio County.

4)      Sarah Ann “Sallie” Mitchell - Born Apr 15, 1849; married 1st William Neighbors on Jan 15, 1867; died Nov 2, 1939, Ohio County.

5)      Corella Evelyn Mitchell – Born Oct 5, 1850; married Robert H. Daniel on Nov 5, 1870; died Oct 26, 1939, Ohio County.

6)      Martha Benson Mitchell – Born Aug 15, 1852; married Calvin W. Daniel on Mar 14, 1870; died Jan 4, 1897, Ohio County.

7)      Robert B. Mitchell – Born Aug 10, 1855; died Aug 21, 1855, Ohio County.

8)      Joseph Gabriel Mitchell – Born Sep 25, 1858; married 1st Henrietta A. Hurt on Sep 3, 1878; died Apr 29, 1912, Ohio County.

9)      Allison Pierce Mitchell – Born Dec 11, 1864; married 1st Viola V. Mills Jun 21, 1887, Ohio Co.; died May 12, 1950, Ellis County, Texas.

Sulphur Springs - Editor:

       The Hartford Herald, September 12, 1878

Mrs. Mart Mitchell dropped from her chair on the 8th instant, and expired before her husband who was in the same room, could reach her.

       The Hartford Herald, September 18, 1878

Mrs. J. Martin Mitchell, living near Barrett’s Ferry, this county, died  very suddenly last Sunday evening week.  She had been in declining health for several months, but was not thought to be in any danger at the time of her death.

Mrs. Mitchell was an exemplary lady, an excellent neighbor, a devoted wife and a loving affectionate mother.    The deceased was a daughter of Bartemus Acton,  deceased, and  sister to Mrs. G. J. Bean, of this place.
  
                                                                                            ~ by Janice Cox Brown
                                                                                                          Tyler, TX
                                                                                            
Sources
·         Ohio Co., Kentucky Marriage and Death Certificates
·         Ohio Co. KY Census Records (various years) and Deed Records
·         Family records of Hoyt Wilson; Sue (Acton) Gregory; Terry Acton; Glenda Potts Thacker; and David Arthur Myers
·         Family records researched in 1973 by Gladys Altman for Janice Brown, shared by Mrs. Alpha Smith, Narrows, KY;  Bessie K. Rowe, Louisville; and Loretta (Crowder) Westerfield, Rosine.

Tuesday, June 4, 2013

SULPHUR SPRINGS

Ohio spring once resort

     EDITOR’S NOTEIn recent weeks, staff writer John Maglinger has traveled hundreds of miles in our area visiting with interesting people.  This is the first of five reports on what he found.

By JOHN MAGLINGER
Messenger-Inquirer Staff

     SULPHUR SPRINGS, KY. – The old dance hall isn’t what it used to be and the yellow poplar hotel is missing altogether, but if you look hard enough you can find traces of what made this quaint Ohio County settlement a fashionable health resort at the turn of the century.

     Tucked away some 200 yards off Kentucky 69 – just south of Dundee – a bone dry sulphur well raises its antique head beneath a cedarwood shelter.

     Years ago, its water was hailed as an elixir by persons anxious to ward off certain “constitutional imbalances,” that were considered harbingers of failing health.

     The surrounding countryside, lined with elm, maple and beech trees, also provided a relaxing backdrop for those interested in escaping the heat of the city.

     Since his father operated the summer resort from 1918 until 1931, John Magan has more than a passing acquaintance with the fluxuating fortunes of Sulphur Springs.

     “In the horse and buggy era, this was the gathering place for the folks around here,” Magan said.

     In 1880, a stagecoach from Owensboro traveled the gravel roads to Sulphur Springs jostling passengers over chuckholes  and causing one wry gentleman to remark that he needed a taste of something stronger than sulphur water after making the trip.

     Others booked passage on the showboats that roamed Rough River, disembarking at Hartford and completing the 10-mile journey to the resort by carriage.

     After its initial success, Sulphur Springs fell on hard times and when Magan’s father assumed ownership the resort was a ramshackled, overgrown mass of foliage and cracked timbers.

     “My father had to have men cut down the bushes, drain off the water in the lowlands, and the dance hall was so rotted, he built a new one,” the 72-year -old Magan said.

     The dance hall – which is now used as a storage area – once throbbed to the music of an 8-piece band as  breathless couples swayed and pivoted across its polished floor to such “hot” numbers as “The Wang Wang Blues” and “Toot Toot Tootsie.”

         “There also were barbecues and chicken dinners,”  Magan said, “and people would bring their jugs, tin cups and glasses and fill up at the well.”

     On a typical Sunday, the gentlemen played croquet while the younger set paired off beneath the shade trees, gossiping noisily and hoping the sun would hurry down so they could hold hands without being rebuked by their parents.

     Ever so often, a lady would detach herself from a circle of friends and walk to the sulphur well for another cupful of the restorative liquid.

     “The local people used to call it a ‘sulphur gum’ well,” Magan said, “because it was lined with gum tree wood.  The wood was later replaced with clay tiles, though.”

     Not only was the sulphur water renowned for its curative powers, but the rich, black mud that oozed from the base of the well also had its uses.

     “The mud was thought to cure foot sores,”  Charles Conkwright, Magan’s great-nephew said, “but the women applied it as a facial treatment.

     Although there are only a few homes in Sulphur Springs today, the community once boasted a post office, drug store, two grocery stores, a church and, of course, the 20-room hotel to accommodate out-of-town visitors.

     Its rough-sawed beams were constructed in 1873 – and despite a fire six years later – the building was as sturdy as ever when it was razed several years ago, according to Magan’s sister, Jessie Kester.

     Mrs. Kester, whose home now rests on the hotel’s former site, recalls the furnishings in the various bedrooms:

     “Each had a straw mat rug, an iron bed, a washbone pitcher and a china chamber pot,” she said.

     When the property was sold to the Methodist church in the '30's, the dance pavilion was converted into a meeting hall and Magan said that the preachers would sometimes claim “the devil lived under this very floor”.

    Whatever the medicinal properties of sulphur water actually were, Mrs. Kester said the bands of gypsies who used to pass through the area considered it something special.

     “They would baptize their children in the sulphur water,” she said, “and give it to them to drink.  I never saw a little baby refuse it – they’d even cry for more – but the dogs wouldn’t touch it.”

     Sounding what was probably the prevailing opinion of the time, Conkwright – who sampled the water before the well went dry – said:


     “If you’re thirsty, it tastes good.  If not, you had to hold your nose to get it down.”

Transcribed as published in the Messenger-Inquirer on October 26, 1975

This article was sent to me by Terry Acton.  It is much appreciated.

Sunday, June 2, 2013

Fielder Wemmes Acton

Fielder Wemmes Acton

1837 – 1912
Of Ohio County, Kentucky

Son of Bartemus Acton and Sarah Ann Robey
and
Grandson of Osborn Acton and Elizabeth (?)
of Charles County, Maryland

FIELDER WEMMES ACTON - Born March 24, 1837, he was named for an uncle by the same name in Charles County, Maryland.  Fielder grew up on his father’s farm near Hall’s Creek, and was seventeen when he joined the Mt. Vernon Methodist Church in 1854.  He married Elizabeth Wade Hines on January 28, 1858.  Elizabeth was the daughter of Simeon Walton Hines and Elizabeth Wade.

On July 1, 1863, Fielder, age 26, and three of his brothers, Gabriel, age 31; Thomas W., age 34; and William H., age 29, all registered for the U. S. Civil War Draft. All four brothers gave their occupations as “farmer.”  Captain John R. Grissom was the registrar.  Fielder also served in the Ohio County Home Guards, and is listed in the U. S. Civil War Pension Index, because he filed for a pension on January 23, 1893.  He became eligible because his home guard unit was activated and called out to help the 17th Kentucky Infantry by order of Col. McHenry. 

According to his death certificate, he died from pneumonia the day after his birthday at age seventy-five on Mar 25, 1912.  His obituary was published Mar 27, 1912.  Fielder’s headstone is inscribed with date of Mar 24, 1911, which is in error.  Fielder and Elizabeth are buried in the Mt. Vernon Cemetery near Sulfur Springs.   They had eight children listed in their family Bible.





Both photos above are of Fielder Wemmes and Elizabeth (Hines) Acton.


The children of Fielder and Elizabeth Hines Acton were:


1.       Margaret May Acton, born January 14, 1859 and married William M. Potts on December 7, 1876.  She died February 4, 1904 and is buried in Mt. Vernon Cemetery, Ohio County.
2.      Enoch Crow Acton, born October 2, 1860 and married Julia Ann Brown on December 15, 1885.  He died December 29, 1947 and is buried in Rosehill Elmwood Cemetery, Daviess County, KY.
3.      Sara Jane Acton, born December 2, 1862 and married Orrin Duke on January 12, 1881.  She died August 25, 1955 and is buried in Rosehill Elmwood Cemetery, Daviess County.
4.      Martha Taylor Acton, born January 17, 1864 and married James B. York on January 27, 1881.  She died February 5, 1941 and is buried in Mt. Vernon Cemetery, Ohio County.
5.      Ida Elizabeth Acton, born December7, 1866 and married William Virgil Duke on May 21, 1884.  She died August 16, 1942 and is buried in Rosehill Elmwood Cemetery, Daviess County.
6.      Eva Wade Acton, born December 15, 1869 and married D.C. Burton on March 11, 1891.  She died May 9, 1932 and is buried in Mt. Vernon Cemetery, Ohio County.
7.      Tinie F. Acton, born September 22, 1873 and married Thomas P. Wilson on December 22, 1898.  She died December 7, 1913 and is buried in Mt. Vernon Cemetery, Ohio County.
8.      Maude B. Acton, born April 26, 1880 and she married John Daniel on August 15, 1900.  She died October 11, 1962 and is buried in Olaton Cemetery, Ohio County.
Fielder and Elizabeth Hines Acton’s Obituaries:
The Hartford Herald, Wednesday, March 27, 1912 

F. W. Acton Dead 
     Mr. F. W. Acton, one of Ohio county’s well known citizens, died at his residence ten miles northeast of Hartford last Monday morning at 4 o’clock.
     “Uncle Fielder” as he was commonly known, had been in feeble health for the past few years and was stricken with pneumonia about two weeks ago and gradually grew worse until the end came.  His remains were interred in the Mt. Vernon Church cemetery at 1 o’clock p. m. yesterday, after funeral services by the local pastor.  The deceased, who was 75 years old last Sunday, leaves surviving him a widow and several children—all grown and married—among whom is Mrs. J. A. Daniel, of Hartford, who was at his bedside for several days before his demise.

Hartford Herald, Wednesday, June 15, 1921

Elizabeth Acton
     Mrs. Elizabeth Acton, widow of F. W. Acton, died last Monday evening at 9:30 o’clock of diseases incident to old age.  Although she had been in ill health for some time her condition had not been serious until the previous Wednesday.  She had reached the ripe old age of a little more than 81 years.  She was living with her daughter, Mrs. James B. York and Mr. York, of near Sulphur Springs at the time of her death.
     She was a faithful member of Mt. Vernon M. E. Church South and a splendid type of womanhood.  Her friends were numbered by those who had the blessing of her acquaintance.
     She is survived by six sons and daughters as follows:  E. C. Acton, Indianapolis, Ind.; Mrs. Sarah J. Duke, wife of O. T. Duke, Owensboro; Mrs. Ira Duke, Owensboro; Mrs. Maud Daniel, wife of John Daniel Beaver Dam; Mrs. Eva Burton, wife of Dock Burton, near Sulphur Springs and Mrs. Martha York, wife of J. B. York, near Sulphur Springs.  A number of grandchildren and great-grandchildren also survive. Her husband preceded her to the grave about ten years ago.
     Funeral services were conducted by her pastor, Rev. H. S. Gillette, at Mt. Vernon church, Tuesday afternoon at 2 o’clock.  The body was laid to rest in the cemetery nearby.  The bereaved ones have our sincerest sympathy.



Sources
·         Kentucky Marriage Certificates
·         Kentucky Death Certificates
·         The Hartford Herald
·         A Chick And Kin Book, Volume 2, by Eula Eunice Park Mitchell
·         The Families of Sarah Ann (Mitchell) Neighbors Landrum Peters by David Arthur Meyers
·         Family records of Janice Cox Brown
·         Family records of Betty York Tichenor and Ruth York Bennett
·         Family records of Hoyt Wilson
·         Family records of Glenda Potts Thacker

      This genealogical biography was furnished by Terry Acton, a direct descendant of Fielder Acton.  We thank her for her contribution to this blog.


JAMES NELSON JARNAGIN

JAMES NELSON JARNAGIN, the eleventh pastor of the Green River Church, served from April, 1888 through June, 1892, a period of four years and two months. He was a very remarkable man and eminent Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Christ who was born of humble and godly parents, John M. and Sarah Caroline (Miller) Jarnagin, in Ohio County, Kentucky. His mother was a sister of those outstanding Baptist preachers, Drs. Andrew Jackson Miller and Allen Burr Miller. His parents were not blessed to a great extent with this world's goods, but they gave the best to their son which could be afforded. While a youth he worked on his father's farm, and hired out at fifty cents a day to others. 

Brother Jarnagin attended the schools at hand of his day and later attended Hartford College and studied under Professor Wayland Alexander. For some years he attended Bethel Baptist Men's College, Russellville, Kentucky. For a number of years before he entered the Ministry, he taught school in Ohio County. 

He was converted at the age of thirteen, in 1875, and was baptized into the fellowship of the Mt. Zion Baptist Church in his native county by Pastor B. F. Jenkins. By this Church he was licensed to preach the Gospel on February 4, 1882. His ordination to the Baptist Ministry took place at the same Church on May 20, 1885. Pastor B. F. Jenkins and others formed the Presbytery. He was at age twenty-three when ordained. Thus began a ministry which was to last for thirty-eight years, in which time he served Churches in Ohio, Henderson, Daviess, McLean, Muhlenberg and Butler Counties, in Kentucky. 

Brother Jarnagin kept a record faithfully during his ministry which showed that he preached 3,290 sermons and baptized 1,000 persons into the fellowship of Baptist Churches. His last sermon was preached at Macedonia Church, in Daviess County, in June, 1922. His health at that time had failed, and he never recovered. After being invalid for four years and six months, he died at his home in Beaver Dam, Kentucky, on March 21, 1927. His funeral was conducted from the historic Beaver Dam Church by that lovable preacher, C. C. Daves; and his body was interred in the Sunnyside Cemetery at Beaver Dam. 

On August 11, 1889, he had married Miss Lillian Flener. One daughter blessed this union. She and her mother survived him, in 1927, and furnished the material for this sketch, all of which appeared in the "History of the Daviess-McLean Baptist Association in Kentucky - 1844-1943" written by the writer in 1939-1943 and published in 1943. They were still living at that time.

Brother Jarnagin served the following Churches during his useful Ministry: Mt. Zion, Green River, Slaty Creek, Cool Springs, Zion, Mt. Carmel, Bell's Run, in Ohio County, as well as Dundee and Deanfield in the same County; Cedar Grove (1909-1916), Bethlehem (1910-1911), Paradise, Mt. Pisgah (1910) and Cherry Hill (1911), in Muhlenberg County; Macedonia and Bethabara, in Daviess County; Old Buck Creek, in McLean County; Salem, Morgantown and New Harmony, in Butler County; and Pellville, in Hancock County. His salary at each of these Churches ranged from $14.00 to as much as $250.00 per year. All of them were quarter-time Churches, meeting only one Sunday per month. Brother Jarnagin was an able Minister of the Gospel and a strong defender of the faith and hope of the Christians. He was careful, in the presentation of his message. The world was made richer by his noble and useful life. In his last illness he longed often to "depart and be with Christ"; and he welcomed the summons to come up higher. For the last thirty years of his life he held membership in the historic Beaver Dam Church. At his death "A good man had gone and a prince in God's Israel had fallen."

A Sesquicentennial History of the Green River Missionary Baptist Church 1836 - 1986, Written and Compiled by Wendell Holmes Rone, Sr., For the One Hundred and Fiftieth Anniversary of the Founding of the Church, 1987.